Three fourth-place efforts highlight day three of BMX Worlds for Team USA


Scott Moreland was 4th among men 40-44
Scott Moreland was 4th among men 40-44
Rotterdam, Netherlands (July 25, 2014) – The 2014 UCI BMX World Championships continued on Friday with the cruiser class competitions. Five Americans made it to their main events and three of them were barely edged from the podium with fourth-place finishes.
In the men's 13-14 cruiser class final, Hunter Brown (West Bountiful, Utah) turned in a fourth-place effort after finishing behind Riley Carter (AUS), Tino Popma (NED), and Romain Catenacce (FRA).
Jonas Harmon (Layton, Utah/GT Bicycles) was another American to cross the line in fourth, finishing behind Kevin Batey (IRE), Tyrone Johns (RSA), and Simon Homans (GBR) in the men's 30-34 event.
Among men 40-44, it was another podium near-miss for the USA as Scott Moreland (Indianapolis, Ind./ placed fourth after Alan Hill (GBR), Andrew Shaw (GBR), and Tom van Dinther (NED).
Two other Americans advanced all the way to their finals: Justin Dyar (Gilbert, Ariz.) placed seventh in the men's 17-24 category and Maurice Horton (Santee, Calif./S&M Bikes) was eighth among men 25-29.
Racing action continues in Rotterdam this weekend as the elite racers take to the race course for the Time Trial Superfinals on Saturday and the Supercross World Championship races on Sunday. Stay tuned to for full reports! You can also follow #BMXWorlds on twitter for live updates.
Complete Results
Jonas Harmon was fourth among men 30-34.
Jonas Harmon was fourth among men 30-34.
Photo Gallery
2014 UCI BMX World Championships
Rotterdam, Netherlands
July 23-27, 2014
Men 13-14 Cruiser Class
1. Riley Carter (AUS)
2. Tino Popma (NED)
3. Romain Catenacci (FRA)
4. Hunter Brown (West Bountiful, Utah)
Men 17-24 Cruiser Class
1. Robin Van der Kolk (NED)
2. Jordan Morgan (AUS)
3. Hunter McGill (CAN)
7. Justin Dyar (Gilbert, Ariz.)
Men 25-29
1. Adam Coker (NZL)
2. Kevin Van der Linde (NED)
3. Noud Verstegen (NED)
8. Maurice Horton (Santee, Calif./S&M Bikes)
Men 30-34 Cruiser
1. Kevin Batey (IRE)
2. Tyrone Johns (RSA)
3. Simon Homans (GBR)
4. Jonas Harmon (Layton, Utah/GT Bicycles)
Men 40-44
1. Alan Hill (GBR)
2. Andrew Shaw (GBR)
3. Tom van Dinther (NED)
4. Scott Moreland (Indianapolis, Ind./

This Article Updated July 25, 2014 @ 08:56 PM For more information contact: