Stenner and Kuck Scholarship Recipients named for 2017


Colorado Springs, Colo. (May 10, 2017) -- The USA Cycling Foundation is pleased to announce the four student-athletes chosen to receive the annual John Stenner and Joshua Kuck Memorial Collegiate Cycling Scholarships.

The women's John Stenner Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Erica Clevenger (University of Arizona) while the men's Stenner Scholarship was awarded to Joseph Iuliano (University of Arizona).  Annie Pharr (Appalachian State University) won the women's Joshua Kuck Memorial Scholarship and Justin Strauss (Columbia University) was named winner of the men's Kuck Scholarship.

Each of the four recipients will receive $1,500.

Erica Clevenger

Erica Clevenger is a senior at University of Arizona, majoring in Chemical Engineering and minoring in Spanish. Clevenger is on the Dean’s list, Engineering Student Council, USA Cycling Collegiate Committee, and was named University of Arizona Club Sports Athlete of the Year in 2016. Erica is no stranger to the top step of the podium as she went nearly undefeated through the collegiate road season this Spring. Clevenger competed at Collegiate Road Nationals this spring and took the win in the Women’s Divison 1 road race and was runner-up in the criterium and time trial.

"Collegiate cycling has made me the athlete and person I am today and I am honored to have been awarded the Stenner scholarship. I am excited to use this opportunity to continue to help grow and develop the sport in John Stenner's legacy in order to further its positive impact on all the current and future cyclists!"

Joseph Iuliano

Photo by Damion Alexander
Photo by Damion Alexander
Joseph Iuliano is currently pursuing a PhD in geography at the University of Arizona. His research focuses on the use of science in decision making as it pertains to citizen advisory committees-specifically active transportation planning and urban design. Joseph is the Southwest Collegiate Cycling Conference Director, President of the Arizona Bicycle Racing Association, USA Cycling Collegiate Sport Committee’s male representative, and on the Tucson-Pima Co. Bicycle Advisory Committee. He races category one/Collegiate A, and has numerous podium results in collegiate road racing this year.

“Winning the Stenner Scholarship is an enormous honor. The scholarship highlights USA Cycling's dedication to improving the sport- especially at the grassroots level- and the dedication to improving the visibility of cycling in general. I'm proud to be a part of USA Cycling and to continue working to improve the sport we all love.”
Annie Pharr                                                                                                                                                    

Annie Pharr is studying Recreation Management with a concentration in Outdoor Experimental Education at Appalachian State University and has a 3.81 GPA. She is on the Dean’s list and is President of her cycling team, which was named the ACCC Conference Champion for the 2016 mountain bike season. Annie was the ACCC individual conference champion, won 4th place in the Collegiate MTB Nationals Short Track, and 4th for overall club women’s omnium. She is a board member for the Boone Area Cyclists non-profit whose mission is to “develop, coordinate and promote safe and accessible bicycling opportunities in the geographic area of Boone, North Carolina.”

“Winning the Kuck scholarship award means so much to me, and I am humbled to be the recipient. Without my App State teammates I would be a different person— collegiate cycling pushes me to be my best self, emotionally, physically and even in academics. I find cycling to be empowering, and I hope to always be involved in the cycling community. Whether it be through racing, advocacy, getting more women riding, or staying connected to my collegiate team, I hope to be able to one day give back even a fraction of the benefits that collegiate cycling has given me.”

Justin Strauss

Justin Strauss is a sophomore at Columbia University, with a 3.74 GPA studying computer science. He is on the Dean’s list and is a Resident Adviser. Justin is a Junior Representative for his Local Association, New York State Bicycle Racing Association and is also President of his cycling team, taking on responsibilities such as sponsorship support, recruitment, web design and social media, leading no-drop group rides, and much more.

"Winning the Kuck scholarship is an honor. I owe a huge thanks to my teammates on both the Columbia University cycling team and the Century Road Club Development Foundation team, as well as all of my friends in the New York City cycling community, for being constant sources of inspiration. My family has also shown endless support through all of the early morning wake up calls and long distance travels that are inherent to bike racing. Finally, I'd like to thank the USA Cycling Foundation for giving recognition to the crucial role of education and advocacy in the cycling community."


The John Stenner Memorial Scholarships are based on academic achievements, athletic accomplishments, and service to the community with an emphasis on collegiate team involvement and leadership. Stenner scholarships are funded by donations to the USA Cycling Foundation in honor of John Stenner, one of the founders of collegiate cycling.

The Joshua Kuck Memorial Scholarships are based on outstanding achievements in the areas of cycling safety, advocacy, and education. The program is funded through the USA Cycling Foundation by directed donations from the friends and family of Joshua Kuck, a University of South Florida collegiate cyclist who was tragically killed by a motorist on his bike in 2007.

This Article Updated May 15, 2017 @ 03:06 PM For more information contact: