Squire beats heat to win U23 road race on Day 4 of road nationals


A group of junior riders, under-23 men and para-cyclists on Saturday tested their endurance on the Major Matthew P. Burke, M.D Championship Course on Fort Gordon in Augusta, Ga., on the fourth day of the Juniors, U23, Elite & Para Road National Championships.
The riders contested varying amounts of laps of the 23.7-kilometer loop.
Alexis Ryan made a late move to win the junior women 17-18 road race on Saturday. (Photo by Jonathan Devich)
Alexis Ryan made a late move to win the junior women 17-18 road race on Saturday. (Photo by Jonathan Devich)
The winners of the U23 men’s and junior women’s 17-18 road races, Rob Squire (Sandy, Utah/Chipotle Development Team) and Alexis Ryan (Ventura, Calif./Team TIBCO II), will receive automatic nominations to the 2011 squad representing the United States at the UCI Road World Championships in Copenhagen, Denmark, Sept. 21-25.
The U23 men were the day’s main event, making seven laps of the course, totaling 168 kilometers in the height of the Augusta heat. The soaring temperatures played in favor of the Chipotle Development Team which controlled this race from the midpoint. Friday’s U23 men’s criterium champion, Robert Bush (Louisville, Ky.), attacked the field and built a lead of approximately one minute at the start of the third lap. A mechanical issue brought Bush back to the pack, allowing Squire and Jacob Rathe (Portland, Ore.) to work together for the last 36 kilometers.
The two USA Cycling National Development Program riders shared the labor to build an insurmountable lead as the duo crossed the finish line nearly three minutes ahead of the third-place rider, Evan Huffman (Elk Grove, Calif./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized). Behind Huffman was a third Chipotle rider, Danny Summerhill (Centennial, Colo.), who placed fourth ahead of Joey Rosskopf (Decatur, Ga./Team Type 1).
“I usually do pretty well in the heat,” Squire said. “I was hoping for it to be hot. I got the heat so we brought the pace."
The junior women 17-18 rode 72 kilometers and two familiar names led the pack into the final lap. Friday’s criterium champion, Ryan, and Thursday’s time trial winner, Grace Alexander (Boise, Idaho/BYRDS), were waiting to see who would make the first move. Alexander attacked first and Ryan sat on her wheel. Ryan waited for the right moment to come around Alexander and drill it into the wind and push it into finish.
“It feels so good. I almost started tearing up on the podium,” Ryan said. “This is the race I wanted to win. This is my crown jewel, I guess you could say. In order to go to Denmark for the worlds, I had to win this one because I got fifth in the time trial so this was it. I was looking to win.”
The first group of juniors was the men 15-16, who made three laps of the course, totaling 72 kilometers. The winner, Silverberg, spent portions of time in different positions within the peloton before pulling away for a solo win. Approximately midway through the race, Silverberg attacked a breakaway that was a minute ahead. The peloton caught him with 14 miles remaining. Silverberg’s teammate, Casey Braga (Longwood, Fla./ZMotion) pulled him to the front of the peloton after Silverberg dropped in the climb. Silverberg, who has been racing for less than two years, attacked with another rider and the two of them played cat and mouse before Silverberg pulled away down the stretch. Stephen Bassett (Knoxville, Tenn./Prochain Cycling) won a bunch sprint to earn the silver medal ahead of Brandon Pruett (Silver Creek, Ga.).
“I just said to myself, 'It's all or nothing,' Silverberg said. “There are some great sprinters out here. I knew this was my only chance. My biggest thanks is to my teammate, Casey. I'm just really happy about it."
The para-cyclists opened the day of road races and the winners were: Matthew Bigos (Men's C1), Brett Weitzel (Men's C2), Allison Jones (Women's C2), Matthew Long (Men's C3), Jonathan Copsey (Men's C4), Patricia Collins (Women's C4), Mark Gyulafia (Men's C5), Kelly Crowley (Women's C5), Anthony Pedeferri (Men's H1), Matthew Updike (Men's H2), Marianna Davis (Women's H2), Brian Mitchell (Men's H3), Monica Bascio (Women's H3), Dane Pilon (Men's H4), Steven Peace (Men's T2), the tandem of Clark Rachfal and David Swanson (Men's BVI) and the team of Kara Vattnauer and Mackenzie Wooring (Women's BVI).
For complete results from the para-cycling portion of the national championships, click here and for more detailed coverage of the para-cycling portion of the event, visit www.usparalympics.org.
Racing will continue at the USA Cycling Juniors, U23, Elite and Para Road Cycling National Championships Sunday morning at Fort Gordon when the junior 17-18 (96 kilometers) and elite men (168 kilometers ) as well as the U23 and elite women (120 kilometers) test their endurance on the road race course.
For more information including schedules, rules, course maps and more, visit the Juniors, U23, Elite & Para Road National Championships official event page.
To view a collage of photos from the event check out USA Cycling’s photo gallery and USA Cycling’s YouTube page to view a random selection of videos from the event.
2011 USA Cycling Juniors, U23, Elite & Para Road National Championships
June 22-26
Augusta, Ga.
U23 Men – 168 kilometers
1. Rob Squire (Sandy, Utah./Chipotle Development Team) 4:07:19
2. Jacob Rathe (Portland, Ore./Chipotle Development Team) 4:07:19
3. Evan Huffman (Elk Grove, Calif./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) 4:10:03
4. Danny Summerhill (Centennial, Colo./Chipotle Development Team) 4:20:28
5. Joey Rosskopf (Decatur, Ga./Team Type 1) 4:10:28
Junior Women 17-18 – 72 kilometers
1. Alexis Ryan (Ventura, Calif./Team TIBCO II) 2:16:49
2. Emily Shields (Salisbury, N.C./Carolina Masters-Painpathways Cycling) 2:16:50
3. Katherine Shields (Salisbury, N.C./Carolina Masters-Painpathways Cycling) 2:16:50
4. Grace Alexander (Boise, Idaho/BYRDS) 2:16:50
5. Annika Johannesen (Bend, Ore.) 2:16:51
Junior Men 15-16 – 72 kilometers
1. Jake Silverberg (Pembroke, Fla./ZMotion) 1:52:41
2. Stephen Bassett (Knoxville, Tenn./Prochain Cycling) 1:53:14
3. Brandon Pruett (Silver Creek, Ga.) 1:53:15
4. Logan Owen (Bremerton, Wash./Hagens Berman Cycling) 1:53:17
5. Michael Dessau (Boulder, Colo./Chipotle Junior Development Team) 1:53:17
Men – C1 – 48 kilometers
1. Matthew Bigos (Cardiff by the Sea, Calif.) 1:34:33
Men – C2 – 48 kilometers
1. Brett Weitzel (Salt Lake City, Utah) 1:34:48
Women – C2 – 48 kilometers
1. Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.) 1:38:28
Men – C3 – 48 kilometers
1. Matthew Long (New York, N.Y.) 1:40:53
Men – C4 – 48 kilometers
1. Jonathan Copsey (Nipomo, Calif.) 1:21:03
Women – C4 – 48 kilometers
1. Patricia Collins (Harker Heights, Texas) 1:40:53
Men – C5 – 48 kilometers
1. Mark Gyulafia (Portland, Ore.) 1:21:00
Women – C5 – 48 kilometers
1. Kelly Crowley (Redwood City, Calif.) 1:21:10
Men – H1 – 24 kilometers
1. Anthony Pedeferri (Camarillo, Calif.) 1:12:16
Men – H2 – 48 kilometers
1. Matthew Updike (Denver, Colo.) 1:37:15
Women – H2 – 24 kilometers
1. Marianna Davis (Salt Lake City, Utah) 56:24
Men – H3 – 48 kilometers
1. Brian Mitchell (Lees Summit, Mo.) 1:44:17
Women – H3 – 24 kilometers
1. Monica Bascio (Evergreen, Colo.) 56:28
Men – H4 – 48 kilometers
1. Dane Pilon (Fayetteville, N.C.) 1:35:11
Men – T2 - kilometers
1. Steven Peace (San Diego, Calif.) 55:15
Men – BVI- 72 kilometers
1. Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md.) and David Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.) 1:49:13
Women – BVI – 48 kilometers
1. Kara Vatthauer (Tucson, Ariz.) and Mackenzie Woodring (Belmont, Mich.) 1:23:06

Related Articles

This Article Published June 25, 2011 For more information contact: