USA Cycling announces Spring 2014 Collegiate Academic All-Star class


USA Cycling is pleased to announce the inaugural spring class of Collegiate Academic All-Stars! The Spring 2014 class of riders is composed of 41 riders from 22 different schools. All collegiate cyclists face the challenge of balancing school while racing, and the Academic All-Star program seeks to recognize those that go above and beyond by achieving top grades in the classroom while also competing at USA Cycling Collegiate National Championships.

Many of the riders recognized in this year’s class not only competed at the 2014 CapTech USA Cycling Collegiate Road National
Championships, but also finished highly in the individual events with riders such as Allie Dragoo, Griffin Easter, Michelle Khare and Zack Noonan finishing on the podium in their respective Individual Omniums.  In addition to this, BMX athlete Felicia Stancil was the national champion at the 2014 USA Cycling Collegiate BMX National Championships. Congratulations to all of this the year’s all-stars!

Chase Hines – Marian University
Crystal Kalogris – Marian University
Felicia Stancil – Marian University
Jose Avila – Lees-McRae College
Gunnar Bergey – Lees-McRae College
Chad Capobianco – Mars Hill University
Ivie Crawford - Ft. Lewis College
Anne-Laure Cuvilliez - Stanford University
Tate Devlin – University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Erin Donohue – Lees-McRae College
Allie Dragoo – Marian University
Griffin Easter – Ft. Lewis College
Zoe Frazier – Marian University
Daniel Gerow – Marian University
Will Gleason – DePauw University
Sofia Gomez Villafane – Ft. Lewis College
Robin Hacker-Cary – University of Colorado, Boulder
Hannah Hayduk – Lindsey Wilson College
Joey Iuliano – University of Arizona
Josh Johnson – Marian University
Allison Jones – Warren Wilson College
Alex Kellum – Clemson University
Michelle Khare – Dartmouth College
Dylan Knutson – Lees-McRae College
Jenna MacPherson – Ft. Lewis College
Jacob Miller – Duke University
Sarah Muench – Arizona State University
Zack Noonan – Ft. Lewis College
Jessica Prinner – Midwestern State University
Mauro Rato – Mars Hill University
Craig Richey – Bentley University
Solymar Rivera-Torres – University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Taylor Schwartz – Tufts University
Emily Shields – Lees-McRae College
Katherine Shields – Lees-McRae College
James Snitzer – University of Notre Dame
Robert Tarbox – New York University
Max Thilen – Ft. Lewis College
Monica Volk – Pennsylvania State University, Lehigh Valley
Matthew Zimmer – Lees-McRae College
We encourage all eligible riders to apply for the inaugural fall class of Academic All-Stars in January of 2015. The fall class will honor Track, Mountain and Cyclo-Cross student-athletes. Student-athletes should also consider applying for the John Stenner and Joshua Kuck Collegiate Scholarships in the fall. These scholarships are part of the USA Cycling Development Foundation and are awarded to riders based on certain criteria including competitive, academic, advocacy and community service accomplishments.

This Article Updated June 23, 2014 @ 03:40 PM For more information contact: