Second day of Collegiate Track Nationals taps four titlists


The 2011 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships presented by St. Vincent Sports Performance crowned four more national champions Friday at the Major Taylor Velodrome in Indianapolis, Ind.
Matthew Baranoski earned the gold medal in the men's sprint, edging Colton Barrett at the line.
Matthew Baranoski earned the gold medal in the men's sprint, edging Colton Barrett at the line.
Pennsylvania State University’s Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, Pa.) was the only thing keeping Marian University from earning all of the Stars-and-Stripes jerseys on Friday. Marian riders dominated most of the day’s events, taking the women’s team pursuit time trial, women’s points race and the co-ed team sprint and barely missing out on the men’s sprint.
Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif./Marian University), who won three gold medals on Friday, bringing her total to four over the first two days of the event, acknowledged her school’s reputation as a cycling powerhouse.
“There is an intimidation factor,” Rivera said. “This is our home race. We’re the defending champs … that’s got to be in their minds. But we’re facing stiff competition from these other schools. It’s not like we have this in the bag.”
Baranoski proved that, earning his second Stars-and-Stripes jersey of the event by beating Colton Barrett (North Saint Paul, Minn./Marian University) in two straight heats, which ended in 11.651 and 11.524 seconds. Of note, Alexander Gil (Hialeah, FL), of the newly-formed cycling team at Florida International University, placed fifth in the men’s sprint.
Although Barrett came up just short in the men’s sprint, he and his Marian teammates Matt Gittings (Indianapolis, Ind.), Alex Wieseler (Indianapolis, Ind.), Weston Luzadder (Carmel, Ind.), Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wisc.), and Rivera, won the co-ed team sprint, narrowly edging out Midwestern State University, 2:20 to 2:21. Placing fourth in the co-ed team sprint, just four-tenths of a second behind third-place Lees-McRae, was the U.S. Military Academy, which leads the Division II omnium.

Antonneau and Rivera, along with teammates Allie Dragoo (Grand Rapids, Mich.) and Jacqueline Kurth (Palm City, Fla.) used that nearly picture-perfect teamwork to defend the school’s women’s team pursuit title. The four jetted over their home track in 3:55.333, more than 13 seconds faster than second-place finisher Lees-McRae College and five seconds faster than their winning time last year.

Kurth said they had been training all season for the team pursuit with a 3:55 goal in mind.
“We just kept a steady pace,” Kurth said. “We performed to the best of our ability. I don’t think we could have gone any faster today.”
Kurth earned second place in the women’s points race when she and Jessica Prinner (South Elgin, Ill./Midwestern State University) broke away from the field about three-quarters of the way through the race. Prinner was third in the event.
“I’m not a good sprinter, so when I saw (Prinner) go, I went with her,” Kurth said. “We know each other from racing in juniors. We worked well together.”
With the two gobbling up most of the points in the last three sprints, they helped preserve Rivera’s eventual victory. Rivera earned most of her 20 points from a solo breakaway early in the race, as well as two bunch sprints.
Rivera has 289 points in the individual omnium competition, 83 points more than her nearest competition, Mary Costelloe (Emmaus, Pa./Kutztown University of Pennsylvania). Barrett has a slight 12-point lead over the current second-place holder, his teammate Luzadder, 215-203 in the men’s individual omnium.
Marian’s success has given them a substantial lead in the Division I team omnium competition, leading 702-507 over current second-place Midwestern State. The Division II team omnium is closer, with the U.S. Military Academy holding a 106-point lead over the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
The event is scheduled to conclude Saturday after crowning national champions in the men’s team pursuit, women’s sprint, men’s points race as well as the individual and team omnium winners.
Visit the official event webpage of the 2011 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships presented by St. Vincent Sports Performance for more information on the event, including important eligibility requirements, complete schedule, results, photo gallery and more. Follow the event on Twitter, using hashtag #CollNats.
USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships
Sept. 15 – 17, 2011
Indianapolis, Ind.
Women - Team Pursuit (3 kilometers)
1. Marian University 3:55.3
2. Lees-McRae College 4:08.3
3. Fort Lewis College 4:15.1
4. Midwestern State University 4:22.2
5. Lindsey Wilson College 4:32.8
Women - Points Race (20 kilometers)
1. Coryn Rivera (Tustin, CA/Marian University) 20
2. Jacqueline Kurth (Palm City, FL/Marian University) 16
3. Melissa (Missy) Erickson (Durango, CO/Fort Lewis College) 14
4. Mary Costelloe (Emmaus, PA/Kutztown University of Pennsylvania) 13
5. Jessica Prinner (South Elgin, IL/Midwestern State University) 10
Mixed - Co-Ed Team Sprint
1. Marian University 02:20.3
2. Midwestern State University 02:21.6
3. Lees-McRae College 02:25.8
4. US Military Academy 02:26.2
5. Lindsey Wilson College 02:26.0
Men - Sprint
1. Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, PA/Pennsylvania State University)
2. Colton Barrett (N Saint Paul, MN/Marian University)
3. Grant Boursaw (Stanwood, WA/University of Washington-Seattle)
4. Danny Robertson (Rolling Meadows, IL/Midwestern State University)
5. Alexander Gil (Hialeah, FL/Florida International University)

Related Articles

This Article Published September 16, 2011 For more information contact: