Rhim wins overall at 2013 Tour de l’Abitibi Desjardins


2013 Tour de l'Abitibi Desjardins classification podium
Brendan Rhim tops the podium, with William Barta on the right. Photo: Hugo Lacroix/Tour de l'Abitibi Desjardins

Rouyn-Noranda, Canada (July 22, 2013) — Riding for the USA Cycling National Development Program, Brendan Rhim (Norwich, Vt./KMS) won the overall classification at the 2013 Tour de l’Abitibi Desjardins. Rhim’s teammate William Barta (Boise, Idaho/BYRDS) earned top honors in the Best Young Rider Classification.

Rhim assumed the brown jersey of the race leader after crossing the line second in the stage 5 road race from Timiskaming First Nation to Lorrainville. He finished with the same time at the stage winner, Olivier Brisebois of Team Quebec, but the result gave him a four-second edge on Brisebois in the general classification. Rhim finished in the main field on stages 6 and 7 to retain his lead and land the top step of the overall podium.

Barta took the lead of the Best Young Rider standings after placing second in the stage 3 individual time trial, which also moved him up to third in the general classification at the time.

Several Americans riding for their club or trade teams also produced noteworthy results. Dakota Schaeffer (West Lawn, Pa./Mid-Atlantic Development Foundation) was the only American to earn a stage win, crossing the line first in stage 6. He also notched a runner-up finish on stage 4. Peter Goguen (Hopedale, Mass./CF Racing) was second on stage 1 and landed seventh in the final GC. Stephen Bassett (Knoxville, Tenn./ISCorp Cycling Team) took second in stage 7 and finished sixth overall. Austin Vincent (CF Racing) took third on stage 6.

Also competing for USA Cycling’s National Development Program squad were Ansel Dickey (Truro, Mass./KMS), who placed third in stage 1 and stage 6, Geoffrey Curran (Tustin, Calif./Get Crackin'), Justin Oien (Escondido, Calif./MRI Endurance), and Philip O'Donnell (Suwanee, Ga./Hot Tubes). In addition to this team, USA Cycling also sent three teams of six riders to the event after they qualified through one of our regional talent ID camps. Rhim follows in the footsteps of several USA Cycling riders who have won the race, including T.J. Eisenhart (Lehi, Utah/BMC Racing Team) last year.

USA Cycling's National Development Programs are supported by the USA Cycling Development Foundation. You can support the future of American cycling with an online donation.

2013 Tour de l’Abitibi Desjardins
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
July 15-21, 2013


Final Overall Classification
1. Brendan Rhim (Norwich, Vt./KMS) 13:46:34
2. Owen Gillott (AUS/Racers Against Childhood Cancer (RACC)) +0:02
3. Olivier Brisebois (CAN/Quebec) +0:10
4. Jack Burke (CAN/Canada) +0:15
5. William Barta (Boise, Idaho/BYRDS) +0:22
6. Stephen Bassett (Knoxville, Tenn./ISCorp Cycling Team) +0:26
7. Peter Goguen (Hopedale, Mass./CF Racing) +0:29
8. Geoffrey Curran (Tustin, Calif./Get Crackin') +0:30
9. Justin Oien (Escondido, Calif./MRI Endurance) +0:36
10. Rudyard Peterson (Kalamazoo, Mich./Borah Development) +0:36
11. Philip O'Donnell (Suwanee, Ga./Hot Tubes) +0:38
27. Ansel Dickey (Truro, Mass./KMS) +1:22

Final Best Young Rider Classification
1. William Barta (Boise, Idaho/BYRDS) 13:46:56
2. Peter Goguen (Hopedale, Mass./CF Racing) +0:07
3. Philip O'Donnell (Suwanee, Ga./Hot Tubes) +0:16

This Article Updated July 24, 2013 @ 10:50 PM For more information contact: