Marian, US Military Academy on top at Collegiate Track Nationals


Marian University won the Division I Team Omnium.
Marian University won the Division I Team Omnium.
Indianapolis, Ind. (Sept. 17, 2011)
— An exciting three days of racing at the Major Taylor Velodrome came to a close Saturday, as Marian University and the U.S. Military Academy clinched team omnium honors at the 2011 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships presented by St. Vincent Sports Performance
Because many of the riders are unable to train on the bike over the summer because of their military commitments, the West Point cadets decided to put an emphasis on team events.
“It’s all about teamwork,” said U.S. Military Academy team captain Gregory Keith. “We may not be as strong individually, but by working together, we were able to beat the other (Division II) teams.”
Despite missing two strong riders – Rob Bush (Louisville, Ky.) is competing at worlds and Adam Leibovitz (Indianapolis, Ind.) is recovering from pneumonia – Marian was able to capture its sixth straight omnium victory on its home track and 15th overall title.
Marian’s two last-minute replacements, Matt Gittings (Indianapolis, Ind.) and Alex Wieseler (Indianapolis, Ind.), teamed with Weston Luzadder (Carmel, Ind.) and Colton Barrett (North St. Paul, Minn.) to win the Men’s 3-kilometer Team Pursuit title earlier in the day. Marian posted a 3:32.508 time, beating a strong University of Colorado team by less than two seconds. Lees-McRae College came in third with a 3:39.624 time.
The US Military Academy won the Division II team omnium.
The US Military Academy won the Division II team omnium.
A beaming Grant Bourshaw (Stanwood, Wash./University of Washington-Seattle) earned his first Stars-and-Stripes jersey Saturday, winning the men’s individual omnium with a steady performance over the three days – coming in second in the 1-kilometer time trial, third in the Men’s Sprint and sixth in the points race. Earning 225 points, he edged Marian’s Barrett, Luzadder, who had 215 and 203 points, respectively. University of Colorado-Boulder’s Jesse Goodrich (Louisville, Colo.) and Ryan Cleveland (Durango, Colo. /Fort Lewis College) rounded out the top five.
Coryn Rivera(Tustin, Calif./Marian University) won her fifth and sixth stars and stripes jersey at this year’s meet, winning the women’s sprint race and women’s individual omnium.  Second place in the omnium went to 500-meter time trial champion Mandy Marquardt (Breinigsville, Pa./Penn State University), with Mary Costello (Emmaus, Pa./ Kutztown University of Pennsylvania), Missy Erickson (Durango, Colo./Fort Lewis College) and Katie Antonneau (Racine, Wisc./Marian University) completing the podium.
Rivera defeated Marquardt in the sprint race, in one of the most highly anticipated match-ups of the day. An aggressive Rivera took the sprint lane first in both of their races, and Marquardt, who won the 500 meter time trial on Thursday, just couldn’t pass her. Race times were 13.374 and 13.097 seconds, with speeds approaching 55 kilometers per hour. Rivera’s teammates Stephanie Torres (East Elmhurst, N.Y.) and Elizabeth Engwis (Kenosha, Wisc.) took third and fifth, respectively, while Madison Pitts (Lake Worth, Fla./ Lindsey Wilson College) captured fourth place.
Ignacio (Iggy) Silva (San Diego, Calif./Lees-McRae College) won the other big event of the day, the men’s points race. Bridging up to a four-man breakaway with eventual fifth-place rider David Novak (Tunkhannock, Pa./ Lindsey Wilson College), Silva was able to stay away long enough to lap the field and capture the bulk of his 43 points. But heading into the final sprint, he was down three points to eventual second-place finisher Goodrich, who had 41 points.
“With four laps to go, I let (teammate Zachary Felpel) know I was behind him,” Silva said. “With about a lap and a half left, I yelled at him to go, and before we knew it, we had a quarter of a lap on the field. It was smooth sailing from there.”
Davis Shepherd (Seattle, Wash./University of Washington-Seattle) took third in the race with 29 points, while Ryan Sullivan (Nashville, Tenn./Cumberland University) took fourth with 26 points.
Visit the official event webpage of the 2011 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships presented by St. Vincent Sports Performance for more information on the event, including important eligibility requirements, complete schedule, results, photo gallery and more. Follow the event on Twitter, using hashtag #CollNats.
USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships
Sept. 15 – 17, 2011
Indianapolis, Ind.
Click here for the complete individual omnium results.
Click here for the complete team omnium results.
Men - Team Pursuit
1. Marian University 03:32.5
2. University of Colorado-Boulder 03:34.5
3. Lees-McRae College 03:39.6
4. Fort Lewis College 03:40.9
5. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 03:42.7
Women - Sprint
1. Coryn Rivera (Tustin, CA/Marian University) 12.964
2. Mandy Marquardt (Breinigsville, PA/Pennsylvania State University) 12.947
3. Stephanie Torres (East Elmhurst, NY/Marian University) 13.266
4. Madison Pitts (Lake Worth, FL/Lindsey Wilson College) 13.339
5. Elizabeth Engwis (Kenosha, WI/Marian University) 13.509
Men - Points Race
1. Ignacio (Iggy) Silva (San Diego, CA/Lees-McRae College) 43
2. Jesse Goodrich (Louisville, CO/University of Colorado-Boulder) 41
3. Davis Shepherd (Seattle, WA/University of Washington-Seattle) 29
4. Ryan Sullivan (Nashville, TN/Cumberland University) 26
5. David Novak (Tunkhannock, PA/Lindsey Wilson College) 26
Men’s Individual Omnium
1. Grant Boursaw (University of Washington-Seattle)
2. Colton Barrett (Marian University)
3. Weston Luzadder (Marian University)
4. Jesse Goodrich (University of Colorado – Boulder)
5. Ryan Cleveland (Fort Lewis College)
Women’s Individual Omnium
1. Coryn Rivera (Marian University)
2. Mandy Marquardt (Penn State)
3. Mary Costelloe (Kutztown University of Pennsylvania)
4. Melissa Erickson (Fort Lewis College)
5. Kaitlin Antonneau (Marian University)
Division I Team Omnium
1. Marian University (1004)
2. Fort Lewis College (673)
3. Midwestern State University ( 648)
4. Lees-McRae College (592)
5. Lindsey Wilson College (576)
Division II Team Omnium
1. US Military Academy (907)
2. Massachusetts Institute of Technology (821)
3. Cumberland University (365)
4. Kutztown University of Pennsylvania (346)
5. Depauw University (322)


About USA Cycling — Collegiate
With over 4,700 student athletes and 300 collegiate clubs and teams, Collegiate Cycling is the division of USA Cycling responsible for administering competitive bicycle racing in 11 unique collegiate conferences. Collegiate Cycling also oversees all four USA Cycling Collegiate National Championships: Track, Mountain Bike, Cyclo-cross, and Road, and recognizes collegiate club and athlete achievements with the Stenner and Kuck scholarships. To learn more about USA Cycling-Collegiate, visit Recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States, including road, track, mountain bike, BMX, and cyclo-cross.

This Article Published September 17, 2011 For more information contact: