Stein, Meyers added to USA Cycling BMX Worlds squad

Colorado Springs, Colo. (July 19, 2010) – USA Cycling has announced the final squad that will contest the UCI BMX World Championships in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa, July 29 – August 1. Joshua Meyers (Treasure Island, Fla./Factory S Squared-Troy Lee Designs) and Denzel Stein (Desoto, Texas/Redline Bicycles) have been added to the American line-up that will contest the elite men’s event following injuries suffered by veterans Donny Robinson (Napa, Calif./Hyper-Monster Energy) and Kyle Bennett (Conroe, Texas/Free Agent-Rockstar) during pre-worlds training.
“While we’re sad Donny and Kyle won’t be able to participate in the event, we are excited to be able to offer two top young talents the opportunity to gain experience on the world’s highest stage,” said USA Cycling’s BMX Program Director, Mike King.
One of the hottest riders on the domestic circuit, Meyers earned his discretionary nomination to the elite men’s squad following solid performances in this season’s UCI BMX Supercross World Cup events and as one of the top U23 riders in the overall Supercross World Cup rankings. At age 19, Stein earned a discretionary nomination proving himself as one of the top riders in USA Cycling’s 2010 U23 Men’s BMX Power Rankings.    
Robinson, the reigning world champion, and Bennett are not expected to compete in South Africa; however the pair of Olympians will remain on the official roster. Both are expected to complete a full recovery and plan to return to competition later this year.
Visit the UCI BMX World Championships webpage for more information on the event.
2010 UCI BMX World Championships
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
July 29 – August 1
USA Cycling 2010 BMX World Championship team:
Elite Men
Denzel Stein** (Desoto, Texas/Redline Bicycles)
Joshua Meyers** (Treasure Island, Fla./Factory S Squared-Troy Lee Designs)
Donny Robinson (Napa, Calif./Hyper-Monster Energy)
Kyle Bennett ** (Conroe, Texas/Free Agent-Rock Star)
Junior Men
Connor Fields (Henderson, Nevada)
Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz.)
Elite Women
Arielle Martin (Pleasant Grove, Utah)
Amanda Geving (Largo, Fla.)
Alise Post ** (Saint Cloud, Minn.)
Ashley Verhagen ** (Simi Valley, Calif.)
Amanda Carr ** (Punta Gorda, Fla.)
Junior Women
Brooke Crain (Visalia, Calif.)
Taylor Wolcott ** (Roseville, Calif.)
**Discretionary selection

This Article Published July 19, 2010 For more information contact: