Mountain bike, women’s road Olympic long teams named


(Dec. 4, 2015) – USA Cycling announced the men’s and women’s mountain bike and women’s road Olympic long teams on Friday, naming the lists of athletes from which final 2016 Olympic rosters will be selected next summer.
It was a dramatic sprint at the finish.
World Championships bronze medalist Megan Guarnier (blue helmet) earned an automatic Olympic nomination in Richmond. (photo by Casey B. Gibson)

Track long team selections will be made Dec. 18, while BMX and men’s road team selections will be made on June 24, 2016, with the final Olympic Team selection.
The men’s mountain bike long team includes three automatic and four discretionary nominations; up to three members will be named to the final Olympic Team. The women’s mountain bike long team includes two automatic and six discretionary nominations; up to two members will be named to the final Olympic Team.
The women’s road long team includes four automatic and six discretionary nominations. Four road team members, including two time trialists, will be named to the final Olympic Team in June.
Men’s mountain bike long team
Stephen Ettinger (Bozeman, Mont./Team Sho-Air-Cannondale)*
Russell Finsterwald (Colorado Springs, Colo./SRAM-Troy Lee Designs Race Team)
Alex Grant (Salt Lake City, Utah/Ridebiker-Cannondale)
Howard Grotts (Durango, Colo./Specialized Factory Racing)*
Spencer Paxson (Bellingham, Wash./Kona Bicycles Factory Team)
Keegan Swenson (Park City, Utah/Team Sho-Air-Cannondale)
Todd Wells (Durango, Colo./Specialized Factory Racing)*
Women’s mountain bike long team
Larissa Connors (Silverado, Calif.)
Kate Courtney (Kentfield, Calif./Specialized Factory Racing)
Lea Davison (Jericho, Vt./Specialized Factory Racing)*
Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo./LUNA Pro Team)
Rose Grant (Kalispell, Mont.)
Erin Huck (Boulder, Colo./SCOTT-3Rox Racing)
Mary McConneloug (Chilmark, Mass./Team KENDA-M&M Racing)
Chloe Woodruff (Prescott, Ariz./Team Stan’s NoTubes-Niner)*
Women’s road long team
Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo./Wiggle-Honda)
Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho/TWENTY16 p/b SHO-AIR)*
Megan Guarnier (Queensbury, N.Y./Boels Dolmans Cycling Team)*
Amber Neben (Lake Forest, Calif./FCS Cycling-Visit Dallas Cycling p/b Noise4Good)
Shelley Olds (Gilroy, Calif./Ale Cipollini)*
Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif./UnitedHealthcare)
Carmen Small (Durango, Colo./Bigla Pro Cycling Team)
Lauren Stephens (Dallas, Texas/Team TIBCO-SVB)*
Evelyn Stevens (San Francisco, Calif./Boels Dolmans Cycling Team)
Tayler Wiles (Fairfax, Calif./Velocio-SRAM)
* automatic nomination

This Article Updated December 17, 2015 @ 05:31 PM For more information contact: