Marian University, US Military Academy Defend Team Omnium Titles in Indianapolis


Indianapolis, Ind. (September 16, 2017) – Marian University and the US Military Academy successfully defended their respective varsity and club omniums as racing wrapped up at the 2017 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships on Saturday at the Indy Cycloplex.


Marian amassed 1,075 points with numerous victories over the three days. The school finished ahead of second- and third-ranked teams Colorado Mesa University and Lindenwood University in the varsity division. With 985 points earned over the course of the three-day event, the US Military Academy took the club omnium gold medal ahead of the Case Western Reserve University and Penn State-Lehigh Valley. For complete team omnium results, visit the event webpage.


In the individual omniums, another successful title defense was had by Piedmont College’s Erica Allar who came out on top in the women’s rankings. Reaching the podium in all five individual events, and with gold medals in the points race and pursuit, Allar earned 474 points to take the women’s omnium over Olivia Ray (Savannah College of Art & Design). Ray had the same number of points as Allar, but Allar was awarded the tiebreaker based on having more second-place finishes. Julia Sante (Penn State-Lehigh Valley) took home the bronze.

On the men’s side, John Kuhfahl (Belmont Abbey College) also scored two gold medals to win the top prize. He took the men’s omnium title over second- and third-place finishers Jordan Marhanka (Marian University) and Bill Ash (Midwestern State University). For complete individual omnium results, visit the event webpage.  


In the men’s team pursuit final, Marian University’s time of 4:33.253 over the four kilometers bested the field. The silver medal went to the team from Belmont Abbey College (4:37.809), while Colorado Mesa University claimed the bronze medal in 4:40.650.

Sante took the title in the women’s 500-meter time trial with a time of 37.932. Ray and Allar were second and third, respectively.
The men’s kilometer time trial saw Marian University take the top two steps on the podium as Cade Bickmore (1:07.482) and Marhanka (1:07.655) posted the top times. North Park University’s Alex Bolotin was third in 1:08.676.

As Saturday evening’s session rolled around, Ray found herself on the podium again, this time on the top step in the women’s scratch race. She beat out silver and bronze medalists Allar and Stephanie Nave (Milligan College).
Kuhfahl took the gold medal in the men’s scratch race, winning the national title ahead of Ash and teammate Jesse Kooistra (Belmont Abbey College).

In the final competition of this year’s national championship – the coed team sprint – Colorado Mesa University earned the bragging rights ahead of Piedmont College and Fort Lewis College.

The 2017 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships are now in the books. Click here for full results.

This Article Updated September 17, 2017 @ 02:34 AM For more information contact: