Luca Shaw descends to third place at Mountain Bike World Cup in Leogang


Leogang, Austria (June 15, 2014) -- Round four of the 2014 UCI Mountain Downhill World Cup concluded in Leogang, Austria on Sunday with seven Americans contesting the finals. Luca Shaw (Hendersonville, N.C./SRAM-TLD Racing) posted the top result among U.S. riders with a third-place finish in the junior men's competition.
Junior Men
Shaw was only 1.205 off the pace of junior men's winner Amaury Pierron (FRA) who collected the gold medal in a time of 3:30.160. Claiming second place was Taylor Vernon (GBR), 0.554 behind Pierron. American Shane Leslie (Birmingham, Mich.) was 6.903 off pace to finish 13th.
Elite Women
As the lone American in the elite women's final, Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./Team Norco Intl) was sixth, 12.013 off the winning time of Manon Carptenter (GBR) who descended the mountain in 3:42.517. Second and third went to Rachel Atherton (GBR) and Myriam Nicole (FRA), respectively.
Elite Men
Elite men's World Cup leader going into the final run, American Aaron Gwin (Wildomar, Calif,/Specialized Racing) suffered some bad luck when he flatted near the top of the course. The misfortune caused him to place 78th and fall to second in the overall standings.
Leading Sunday's event for the U.S. was Neko Mulally (Pisgah Forest, N.C./Trek World Racing) in 18th, finishing just 5.138 slower than the winning time. Fellow Americans Eliot Jackson (Westlake Village, Calif./Pivot Factory DH Team) and Mitch Ropelato (Ogden, Utah/Specialized Racing) were 45th and 57th.
The downhill portion of the UCI Mountain Bike World Cup will continue, July 31 – Aug. 2 in Mont-Sainte-Anne, Quebec. For more information about the event, click here.
2014 UCI Mountain Bike World Cup – Downhill
June 14-15, 2014
Leogang, Austria
Elite Men
1. Josh Bryceland (GBR) 3:18.749
2. Greg Minnaar (RSA) +1.275
3. Troy Brosnan (AUS) +1.284
18. Neko Mulally (Pisgah Forest, N.C./Trek World Racing) +5.138
45. Eliot Jackson (Westlake Village, Calif./Pivot Factory DH Team) +9.979
57. Mitch Ropelato (Ogden, Utah/Specialized Racing) +11.920
78. Aaron Gwin (Wildomar, Calif./Specialized Racing) +18.850
Junior Men
1. Amaury Pierron (FRA) 3:30.160
2. Taylor Vernon (GBR) +0.554
3. Luca Shaw (Hendersonville, N.C./SRAM-TLD Racing) +1.205
13. Shane Leslie (Birmingham, Mich.) +6.903
1. Manon Carpenter (GBR) 3:42.517
2. Rachel Atherton (GBR) +2.699
3. Myriam Nicole (FRA) +4.028
6. Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./Team Norco Intl) +12.013

This Article Updated June 26, 2014 @ 09:57 PM For more information contact: