Lea dominates the day at Elite Timed Track Nationals


Carson, Calif. (Aug. 10, 2013) -- Four more Stars-and-Stripes jersey were earned Saturday on the second day of competition at the 2013 USA Cycling Elite Timed Track National Championships  at the StubHub Center's VELO Sports Center in Carson, Calif. Finals were held in the men's and women's individual pursuit as well as the men's and women's international omnium.
Men's Individual Pursuit
Bobby Lea on his way to gold in the individual pursuit
Bobby Lea on his way to gold in the individual pursuit. (photo by Brian Hodes)
One year has passed but the men's 4km individual pursuit podium sure had a familiar look to it. Last year's medalists all repeated their 2012 performances with Olympian Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa.) adding to his endless collection of Stars-and-Stripes jerseys and earning the top step. Lea defeated Liam Donoghue (Boulder, Colo./Natural Grocers Cycling) in the final just as he did a year ago, while Stefan Rothe (Austin, Texas/Tulsa Wheelmen) won his second straight bronze medal by besting David Swanson (Tucson, Ariz./Sabino Cycles Racing).
"It never gets old," said Lea of winning his third straight individual pursuit national title. "It's still good to stand on top of the podium and be a U.S. national champion. That's why we keep doing it. My legs were a little bit heavier than normal but I was really using it as a benchmark for basically where I stood. It's been a few weeks since I've been on the track so I wanted to come out here and see where I stood and see where I match up relative to the time standards."
Women's Individual Pursuit
Jade Wilcoxson (Talent, Ore./Optum p/b HED) continues to add to her list of achievements across multiple disciplines. In a year that saw her compete at the UCI World Cyclo-cross Championships and win the U.S. Pro Road Championships, Wilcoxson now adds a national title on the track after defeating Kimberly Geist (Emmaus, Pa./Chester County Cycling) in the final of the women's 3km individual pursuit. It was Geist's second straight silver medal in the event at the national championships.
"It feels amazing," Wilcoxson said after putting on the Stars-and-Stripes jersey. "It's unexpected. Thankfully, the guys at HED a couple of weeks ago did little mini track camp with me to get me ready for this and get me used to the track, and I guess they did something right because I had a good ride. It's been kind of a whirlwind year. I'm thankful for the help and support of Optum Pro Cycling and all of my sponsors. They really make it possible. Also, the support of USA Cycling and Ben Sharp, he's really supportive of my track and helps me a lot, so I have a lot of people to be grateful to."
Amber Gaffney (Claremont, Calif./Optum p/b KBS) claimed the bronze medal with a win over Elizabeth Newell (Oakland, Calif./NOW Cycling).
Men's International Omnium
Lea also showed his domination over the rest of the men's international omnium field, winning five of the six events to don his second Stars-and-Stripes jersey of the day. He won every race except the points race where he finished third. Jacob Duehring (Irvine, Calif./GS Ciao) took the silver medal and Zachary Kovalcik (Sizzle Pie Cycling p/b Proforma) captured the bronze.
"It's nice to come back here and win the omnium after riding in London last year," Lea said. "I was hoping to go a little bit faster but I'm happy with the benchmarks here and looking forward to building on the progress and hopefully taking a medal run at Rio."
Women's International Omnium
The competition in the women's international omnium proved to be a lot closer as defending champion Cari Higgins (Boulder, Colo./ExergyTWENTY16) and 2012 silver medalist Kimberly Geist (Emmaus, Pa./Chester County Cycling) entered the final event, the 500-meter time trial, separated by just one point. But it was Higgins who turned in the faster time in the time trial to secure the national championship. Elizabeth Newell (Oakland, Calif./NOW Cycling) finished with the bronze medal as the podium turned out to be a mirror image of last year.
"It was really tough racing, some of the best quality racing we've had in women's omnium, ever, and I've raced the omnium since the first year we've done it," commented Higgins after receiving her Stars-and-Stripes jersey. "It was really great quality and a really great show for all the fans. Kimberly (Geist) was racing really strong. She and I were one and two in almost every race, and it came down to the 500, which it usually does for the top slots in the omnium, so it was fun to go into the last event neck and neck."
(See Cari Higgins talk about her victory)

The day's events concluded with a non-championship keirin tournament that included a $1,000 prize list for both men and women, made possible by www.calbikelaw.com. Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, Pa./Pure Energy Racing) and Jennifer Valente (San Diego, Calif.) walked away with the first-place prizes in that event.
The Elite Timed Track National Championships wrap up on Sunday with titles being awarded in the men's and women's team sprint and team pursuit.
Those who can't make it out to the VELO Sports Center can follow the event on twitter using hashtag #TrackNats or by visiting www.usacycling.org each night to read the post-race reports and view the photo gallery.
2013 Elite Timed Track National Championships
VELO Sports Center – StubHub Center – Carson, Calif. 
August 9-11, 2013

Men's Individual Pursuit - 4km
1. Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa.) 4:34.137
2. Liam Donoghue (Boulder, Colo./Natural Grocers Cycling) 4:43.590
3. Stefan Rothe (Austin, Texas/Tulsa Wheelmen) 4:44.712

Women's Individual Pursuit - 3km
1. Jade Wilcoxson (Talent, Ore./Optum p/b HED) 3:45.605
2. Kimberly Geist (Emmaus, Pa./Chester County Cycling) 3:48.195
3. Amber Gaffney (Claremont, Calif./Optum p/b KBS) 3:49.069
Men's International Omnium
1. Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa.) 8
2. Jacob Duehring (Irvine, Calif./GS Ciao) 20
3. Zachary Kovalcik (Portland, Ore./Sizzle Pie Cycling p/b Proforma) 23

Women's International Omnium
1. Cari Higgins (Boulder, Colo./Exergy TWENTY16) 10
2. Kimberly Geist (Emmaus, Pa./Chester County Cycling) 12
3. Elizabeth Newell (Oakland, Calif./NOW Cycling) 23

This Article Updated August 11, 2013 @ 04:50 PM For more information contact: