Four champs crowned as Collegiate Track Nats begin


The 2011 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships presented by St. Vincent Sports Performance started Thursday at the Major Taylor Velodrome in Indianapolis, Ind. crowning four collegiate national champions.
Coryn Rivera's winning the women's individual pursuit was among the highlights of the first day at the Major Taylor Velodrome.
Coryn Rivera's winning the women's individual pursuit was among the highlights of the first day at the Major Taylor Velodrome.
Cold temperatures and blustery winds kept things close as three of the day’s four national titles were decided by less than a second.
Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif./Marian University) – who won her first collegiate Stars-and-Stripes jersey to go along with her 33 other national cycling titles – said her early start time certainly helped her win the individual pursuit with a time of 4:02.623.
“I definitely struck gold, going when I did,” Rivera said. “It was still early in the morning and the wind hadn’t picked up yet. Times kept getting slower and slower as the day went on.”
Rivera’s teammate Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wisc./Marian University) came in second, while Rachel Warner (Luray, Va./Lees-McRae College)
An elated Charles Cassin (Denver, Colo./University of Colorado-Boulder) won the men’s individual pursuit after coming in fifth, last year. After riding the track during warm-ups, the University of Colorado sophomore knew the wind and cold would play a huge factor in the day.
“The track felt really slow today,” Cassin, who was the second-to-last rider to contest the men's individual pursuit, said. “There was a lot of crosswind, so we were never able to go very fast. To win, I knew I was going to have to dig deep. I knew it was going to be close.”
Cassin didn’t know just how close as he edged junior Weston Luzadder (Carmel, Ind./Marian University) by just over a half-second, 4:58.483 to 4:59.009.
Sophomore Mandy Marquardt (Breinigsville, Pa./Pennsylvania State University) won the women’s 500-meter time trial with a time of 39.470 seconds, while her teammate, junior Matthew Baranoski, won the men’s one-kilometer time trial, stopping the clock at 1:08.038. Marquardt won the same title at last year’s event. Baranoski earned the bronze medal in the one-kilometer time trial at the 2011 Junior World Championships in Moscow in August.

Despite attending a school in the northeast, both Marquardt and Baranoski had difficulty acclimating to the cold, with Baranoski comparing it to riding at a much higher altitude.
“It was so cold, my lungs were burning and my legs felt like they locked up,” Baranoski said.
Heading into Friday’s races, Marian University leads the Division I Omnium battle, with 376 points to second-place Fort Lewis College’s 242 points. The U.S. Military Academy is tied with last year’s Division II winner Massachusetts Institute of Technology, with 312 points each. After the first day, Rivera leads Marquardt by only 38 points in the women's individual omnium. On the men's side, Luzadder holds a 20-point over Colton Barrett (N Saint Paul, Minn./Marian University) in the men's omnium.
The event is scheduled to resume Friday and crown national titlists in the women’s team pursuit, co-ed team sprint, women’s points race and men’s sprint.
Visit the official event webpage of the 2011 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships presented by St. Vincent Sports Performance for more information on the event, including important eligibility requirements, complete schedule, results, photo gallery and more. Follow the event on Twitter, using hashtag #CollNats.
USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships
Sept. 15 – 17, 2011
Indianapolis, Ind.
Women – Individual Pursuit (3 kilometers)
1. Coryn Rivera (Tustin, CA/Marian University) 04:02.6
2. Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, WI/Marian University) 04:11.3
3. Rachel Warner (Luray, VA/Lees-McRae College) 04:14.7
4. Kelly Plese (Enumclaw, WA/University of Washington-Seattle) 04:15.6
5. Mary Costelloe (Emmaus, PA/Kutztown University of Pennsylvania) 04:16.3
Men – Individual Pursuit (4 kilometers)
1. Charles Cassin (Denver, CO/ University of Colorado-Boulder) 04:58.5
2. Weston Luzadder (Carmel, IN/Marian University) 04:59.0
3. Oscar Clark (Atlanta, GA/Georgia State University) 05:01.4
4. Alex Wieseler (Indianapolis, IN/Marian University) 05:02.7
5. Jesse Goodrich (Louisville, CO/ University of Colorado-Boulder) 05:07.0
Women – Time Trial (500 meters)
1. Mandy Marquardt (Breinigsville, PA/Pennsylvania State University) 39.47
2. Coryn Rivera (Tustin, CA/Marian University) 39.585
3. Amelia BjessePuffin (Portland, OR/Portland State University) 39.712
4. Mary Costelloe (Emmaus, PA/Kutztown University of Pennsylvania) 39.754
5. Melissa (Missy) Erickson (Durango, CO/Fort Lewis College) 39.966
Men – Time Trial (1 kilometer)
1. Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, PA/Pennsylvania State University) 01:08.0
2. Grant Boursaw (Stanwood, WA/University of Washington-Seattle) 01:08.5
3. Colton Barrett (N Saint Paul, MN/Marian University) 01:09.8
4. Alexander Gil (Hialeah, FL/Florida International University) 01:10.2
5. Danny Robertson (Rolling Meadows, IL/Midwestern State University) 01:10.2

Related Articles

This Article Published September 15, 2011 For more information contact: