First Title at Collegiate Track Nationals Goes to Marian University


Indianapolis, Ind. (September 14, 2017) – The 2017 Collegiate Track National Championships got underway Thursday at the Indy Cycloplex in Indianapolis, and Marian University claimed the first gold medal, successfully defending their title in the women’s team pursuit.

Taking place in the morning session, the women’s team pursuit was the only final on day one. The Marian foursome of Laurel Rathbun, Madison Kelly, Marta Morris and Alijah Beatty clocked a time of 5:16.075 over the four kilometers to take the gold medal ahead of the Colorado Mesa University squad of Josefine Dreier, Dafne Theroux Ixquierdo, Emelie Persson and Natalia Franco, which posted 5:25.585. Milligan College, with riders Stephanie Nave, Helen Mitchell and Zoe Mullins, took the bronze in 5:39.415.

Qualifying and round one in both the men’s and women’s sprint also took place during the morning session. The evening session featured more sprint rounds as well as points race heats.

Friday’s schedule sees national titles on the line in the men’s and women’s individual pursuits, points races, and sprints. See the complete schedule here.

Click here for full results.

Follow #collnats and @USACcollegiate on twitter for live updates!

This Article Updated September 14, 2017 @ 09:40 PM For more information contact: