Final 24-hour MTB national titles awarded in New Mexico this weekend


Gallup, N.M. (June 16, 2014) -- The final national titles were awarded in the discipline of 24-hour mountain biking over the weekend as USA Cycling closed the books on its 24-Hour Mountain Bike National Championships.
Held in conjunction with 24 Hours in the Enchanted Forest, the event crowned national champions in seven categories for its final year.
The men's and women's solo competitions resulted in new faces atop the podiums.
Without defending champion Tinker Juarez (Whittier, Calif.) on course, the men's competition was wide open. Endurance strongman Josh Tostado (Breckenridge, Colo.) ultimately took the win after completing 14 laps of the 19.7-mile course in 22 hours and 43 seconds. With 13 laps each, Cyril Jayrayon was second while Hunter Keating (Gilbert, Ariz./Harmony Systems Pro Cycling) settled for the bronze for the second year in a row.
In the women's solo race, Tracy Thelen (Colorado Springs, Colo.) improved upon her silver medal performance from a year ago to take the win and upset defending national champ Nina Baum (Albuquerque, N.M.). Thelen completed 12 laps in 21 hours, 55 minutes, and 53 seconds. Coming in second was Laureen Coffelt (Memphis, Tenn.), who was fifth in 2013, after also completing 12 laps but in 23 hours and 30 minutes. Baum was left with third after making 10 laps in 17 hours and 45 minutes.
The singlespeed contests were close ones.
In the men's singlespeed race, only six minutes separated first and second place, with both riders completing 13 laps. In the end, Daniel Naef (Tucson, Ariz./U.S. Military Cycling Team) came out ahead with a finishing time of 22 hours, 34 minutes, and 58 seconds while Brad Berger (Lafayette, Colo.) collected silver in his time of 22 hours and 40 minutes and Neil Becwar (Tucson, Ariz./Team Rhino) was third.
Only three women competed on singlespeeds and Stefanie Kyser (Santa Fe, N.M./Mellow Velo Racing Team) was deemed the fastest after totaling 10 laps in 21 hours and 41 minutes. Coming in second was Heather Thiry (McCall, Idaho) with 10 laps in 22 hours and 52 minutes while Liz Boese (Fort Collins, Colo.) finished six laps for third place.
Three national titles were awarded in four-person team events.
The New Mexico Allstars won the four-person open event after completing 19 laps in 23 hours and 13 minutes. They finished ahead of Light and Motion and SLM Coaching, which totaled 18 and 17 laps, respectively.
The four-person junior male and female events each consisted of two teams. In the men's race, Get Out! Laps for EARL took the win ahead of Get Out! Junior Men II. In the female competition, Get Out! Junior Women took the national title ahead of Arizona Chics.
In addition to the seven national championship races held in the Enchanted Forest, eleven non-championship races took place as well. Click here to check out those results.
National Championship Results
Photo Gallery
2014 USA Cycling 24 Hour Mountain Bike National Championships
Gallup, N.M.
June 14-15, 2014
Solo Male
1. Josh Tostado (Breckenridge, Colo.)
2. Cyril Jayrayon
3. Hunter Keating (Gilbert, Ariz./Harmony Systems Pro Cycling)
4. Burl Pershall (San Anselmo, Calif.)
5. Joshua Johnston (Tucson, Ariz.)
Solo Female
1. Tracy Thelen (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
2. Laureen Coffelt (Memphis, Tenn.)
3. Nina Baum (Albuquerque, N.M.)
Singlespeed Male
1. Daniel Naef (Tucson, Ariz./U.S. Military Cycling Team)
2. Brad Berger (Lafayette, Colo.)
3. Neil Becwar (Tucson, Ariz./Team Rhino)
4. Eddie Urcadez (Tucson, Ariz./Team Rhino)
5. Rich Maines (Chandler, Ariz./Hammer Nutrition)
Singlespeed Female
1. Stefanie Kyser (Santa Fe, N.M./Mellow Velo Racing Team)
2. Heather Thiry (McCall, Idaho)
3. Liz Boese (Fort Collins, Colo.)
Four-Person Open Team
1. New Mexico Allstars
2. Light and Motion
3. SLM Coaching
Four-Person Junior Female Team
1. Get Out! Junior Women
2. Arizone Chics
Four-Person Junior Male Team
1. Get Out! LAPS for Ea
2. Get Out! Junior Men

This Article Updated June 16, 2014 @ 10:19 PM For more information contact: