Elite Men's Roster Announced for 2017 Road Worlds


Colorado Springs, Colo. (September 9, 2017) – USA Cycling announced today a roster of six athletes that will represent the United States in the elite men’s road race and time trial at the 2017 UCI Road World Championships, September 16-24, in Bergen, Norway.

Solid competitor Brent Bookwalter (Asheville, NC/BMC Racing Team), who was fourth overall at the Tour of California this year, will put his wheel to the line in the road race alongside Nate Brown (Covington, Tenn./Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling), whose accolades this year include wearing the polka dot jersey for two days at the Tour de France. They’ll be joined in the red, white, and blue by Alex Howes (Boulder, Colo./Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling) whose late season includes a stage win at the Tour of Alberta. Also named to the team for the road race are Keil Reijnen (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Trek-Segafredo), who showed strong late season form at Poitou Charentes and the Bretagne Classic, and reigning professional time trial national champion Joey Rosskopf (Decatur, Ga./BMC Racing Team) who is currently racing at the Tour of Britain. Rounding out the six-man squad will be Tejay Van Garderen (Aspen, Colo./BMC Racing Team) who raced the Vuelta this year and also grabbed a stage win at the Giro d’Italia.

In addition to the road race, Rosskopf and Van Garderen will enter the time trial in Bergen.

"I am excited about this team," said USA Cycling VP of High Performance, Jim Miller. "We have six motivated and committed guys, and we aren't traveling to Norway to sit in the peloton."

With the addition of the six elite men, Team USA is now 29 riders strong heading into Bergen. Twenty-three athletes were named previously to the elite women’s, U23 men’s and women’s, and junior men’s and women’s squads. You can read that announcement here.
Find out more about the world championships on the official website, or click here for course maps.

Elite Men’s Team
Brent Bookwalter (Asheville, NC/BMC Racing Team)
Nate Brown (Covington, Tenn./Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling)
Alex Howes (Boulder, Colo./Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling)
Keil Reijnen (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Trek-Segafredo)
Joey Rosskopf (Decatur, Ga./BMC Racing Team)
Tejay Van Garderen (Aspen, Colo./BMC Racing Team)

This Article Updated September 9, 2017 @ 02:36 PM For more information contact: