Eight named to U.S. team for 2013 Continental Track Championships


Colorado Springs, Colo. (January 18, 2013) – USA Cycling announced today the roster of eight athletes that will represent the United States at the 2013 Pan American Continental Track Championships, Feb. 5-10, in Mexico City, Mexico.

Three men and two women will wear the red, white and blue in the sprint events.

Kevin Mansker (Long Beach, Calif./Rubicon Cycling), one of the fastest sprinters in the U.S., will join Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling), the reigning national champion in the sprint, on the start list for the men’s sprint, keirin, and kilometer time trial in Mexico City. Then, they’ll be joined by a relative newcomer to the track, Nathan Koch (Buena Park, Calif./Bike Religion), in the men’s team sprint.

The women’s side of competition will be led by Madalyn Godby (Louisville, Colo./encompass Racing), who is currently the fastest female sprinter in the USA. She’ll pair up with Missy Erickson (Cypress, Calif.) for the women’s sprint, keirin, 500-meter time trial, and team sprint.

2012 Olympic silver medal women’s team pursuit squad member, Lauren Tamayo (Asheville, NC/Exergy TWENTY16) will lead USA Cycling’s efforts in the endurance events in Mexico City. In the team pursuit, she’ll be joined by Elizabeth Newell (Oakland, Calif./Now Cycling-NOW and Novartis for MS), who placed third in the Continental Championship team pursuit last year, and by Ruth Winder (Lafayette, Calif./Vanderkitten-Focus). In addition to the team pursuit, Newell will also contest the women’s omnium, in which she earned bronze last year.

For more information on the event, please visit USA Cycling’s 2013 Pan American Continental Track Championships webpage.

2013 Pan American Continental Track Championships
February 5-10, 2013
Mexico City, Mexico
U.S. Roster

Kevin Mansker (Long Beach, Calif./Rubicon Cycling)
Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling)
Nathan Koch (Buena Park, Calif./Bike Religion)

Madalyn Godby (Louisville, Colo./encompass Racing)
Missy Erickson (Cypress, Calif.)
Elizabeth Newell (Oakland, Calif./Now Cycling-NOW and Novartis for MS)
Lauren Tamayo (Asheville, NC/Exergy TWENTY16)
Ruth Winder (Lafayette, Calif./Vanderkitten-Focus)

This Article Updated January 18, 2013 @ 06:13 PM For more information contact: