Day Two of Collegiate Track Nationals Produces Six More National Titles


Indianapolis, Ind. (September 15, 2017) – The 2017 Collegiate Track National Championships continued Friday at the Indy Cycloplex with six more national titles being awarded.

Action kicked off Friday morning with the individual pursuits. In the men’s four-kilometer contest, last year’s bronze medalist, Jordan Marhanka (Marian University) won by more than three seconds, posting a time of 4:46.716. Bill Ash (Midwestern State University) captured the silver medal for the second year in a row, with a time of 4:49.803, edging out bronze medalist John Kuhfahl (Belmont Abbey College) who stopped the clock at 4:50.172.  

In the women’s three-kilometer pursuit, Erica Allar (Piedmont College) upgraded from her silver medal a year ago, blistering the field by over six seconds to take the gold in 4:00.227. Marian University’s Laurel Rathbun took the silver in 4:06.971, while Emily Beaudoin (Texas State University-San Marcos) collected the bronze medal in a time of 4:08.448.

When the evening session rolled around, Allar doubled up on her winnings by claiming the women’s points race title with 35 points. Alijah Beatty (Marian University) was second with 23 points while Rathbun took home her second medal of the day, a bronze, by accumulating 17 points over the 20 kilometers.

Kuhfahl improved on his bronze medal performance from the morning session when he proved strongest in the men’s 30-kilometer points race. With 59 points, he grabbed the top step of the podium. Ash snagged his second silver medal of the day ahead bronze medalist Mauro Rato (Colorado Mesa University). Ash and Rato flip-flopped their finishes from last year’s points race.

The final competitions of the day were the sprints, and Olivia Ray (Savannah College of Art & Design) outsprinted Allar in the women’s final to grab the gold medal. Julia Sante (Penn State-Lehigh Valley) outsprinted Hannah McDade (Marian University) in the race for third.

Nick Oestreich (Belmont Abbey College) defended his title in the men’s sprint, but needed three races to beat out Peter Bock (Marian University). The third-place final also needed three rides to determine a winner, and Marhanka won his second medal of the day with a win against Justin Butsavage (Penn State-Lehigh Valley).

Racing will conclude on Saturday with the time trials, men’s team pursuit, scratch races, and the co-ed team sprint. See the complete schedule here.

Click here for full results.

Follow #collnats and @USACcollegiate on twitter for live updates!

This Article Updated September 16, 2017 @ 02:41 AM For more information contact: