Corben Sharrah posts fourth in the Supercross final on a tough day for Team USA


Corben Sharrah and Jared Garcia in the men's main event
Corben Sharrah and Jared Garcia in the men's main event
Berlin, Germany (June 14, 2014) – Round three of the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup wrapped up on Saturday with the Supercross finals in which Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz./Haro Bicycles) had the best result for Team USA with a fourth-place finish.
The day was plagued with bad weather and long rain delays which resulted in less-than-optimal track conditions.
After the motos, four Americans moved onto the quarterfinals. Tough luck kept Connor Fields (Henderson, Nev./Chase-Monster) and Nicholas Long (Lakeside, Calif.) out of the semis, but Sharrah and Jared Garcia (Victorville, Calif.) advanced all the way to the men's main event.
Right out of the gate, two-time Olympic gold medalist Maris Stromberg (LAT) took control of the main and crossed the line victorious. He was followed by Twan Van Gendt (NED) in second and Joris Daudet (FRA) in third. Sharrah placed fourth while Garcia came across in seventh.
Felicia Stancil was the lone American in the women's main event
Felicia Stancil was the lone American in the women's main event
In women's racing,  Dani George (Palmdale, Calif.), Brooke Crain (Visalia, Calif.), and Felicia Stancil (Lake Villa, Ill./Factory GT) all made it to the semi-final round, but Stancil became the lone American to advance to the main event.
In the final, Caroline Buchanan (AUS) dominated for the gold medal while Mariana Pajon (COL) and Manon Valentino (FRA) were second and third. Stancil crossed the line in seventh.
The BMX Supercross World Cup will take a break until Sept. 6-7 when it resumes with round four in Argentina. The World Cup finale will then be held at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif., Sept. 26-27. For more information on the BMX Supercross World Cup, click here.
Complete results
Photo gallery
UCI BMX Supercross World Cup
Berlin, Germany
June 13-14, 2014
Men Supercross
1. Maris Strombergs (LAT)
2. Twan Van Gendt (NED)
3. Joris Daudet (FRA)
4. Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz./Haro Bicycles)
5. Renato Rezende (BRA)
6. Kyle Evans (GBR)
7. Jared Garcia (Victorville, Calif.)
8. Alfredo Camp (ECU)
Women Supercross
1. Caroline Buchanan (AUS)
2. Mariana Pajon (COL)
3. Manon Valentino (FRA)
4. Stefany Hernandez (VEN)
5. Laura Smulders (NED)
6. Melinda McLeod (AUS)
7. Felicia Stancil (Lake Villa, Ill./Factory GT)
8. Simone Christensen (DEN)

This Article Published June 14, 2014 For more information contact:
Endurance ConspiracyUSACDFSierra NevadaOSMOShimanoCUOREBonk Breaker
UCI USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States. The 501c3, membership-based organization aims both to achieve sustained success in international cycling competition and to grow competitive cycling in America while delivering an exceptional customer experience.
View Children's Online Privacy Protection Policy
US Olympic Committee