Communiquè 1 for Collegiate Track


General Information
1.  All events will be run according to current USAC and Collegiate rules and regulations, published event formats, and information in the communiqués. Helmets must conform to USAC rules and must be worn at all times while on the bike. Helmets must be securely fastened and meet CPSC standard for bicycle helmets. Any European certified helmets, such as Catlike and Casco, are not permitted.
2.  The officials for the event are as follows:
James Abbott (Chief Referee), Heidi Mingesz (Starter), Deb Schiff (Secretary), Paula Grill (Chief Judge), Dee Dee Scadron (Judge),  Buddy Brownstein (Judge), Carl Wilkins (Referee), Eric Pererson (Referee). The Race Director is Julie Kukolla.  USA Cycling National Events Manager on site is Tony Leko.
3.  Members of the race jury for the event are James Abbott, Heidi Mingesz, and Carl Wilkins.
4.  NUMBERS MUST BE WORN ACCORDING TO THE TABLE BELOW, and may not be trimmed or folded. Riders                       presenting themselves at the line without the proper numbers, with their numbers trimmed, or with their numbers folded may have their start refused. Riders who lose their number will be charged $15 for a replacement.
 Event Numbers to be worn
Sprint Qualifying 1 number (center of back is OK)
3000 meter / 4000 meter TT 1 number (center of back is OK)
Team Pursuit / Team Sprint 1 number (center of back is OK)
Kilometer / 500 meter TT 1 number (center of back is OK)
Match Sprints 2 numbers (on hip)
Points Race 2 numbers (on hip)
For the races where 2 hip numbers are required, they must be placed so that one hip number
Is on the left side positioned for the photo finish and the other numbers positioned for the
Announcer and the Spectators.
5.  Collegiate Team Jersey’s need to be worn at all events. 
6.  Rider heats and competitions will be published and announced. Riders may not delay competition (not reporting as scheduled or taking too much time to get ready). If you plan to scratch from an event you have entered, you must do so prior to the start of the session.
7.  Check in for team events must be completed by the end of the previous day’s session. Failure to check in may result in omission from the start sheet and may have your start refused.
8.  Riders/teams may have only one coach on the track apron during any event. In mass start events, coaches must stay inside the white line on the apron.
9.  All riders, managers, coaches, mechanics, and spectators are under the supervision of the officials and under the regulations of the USAC. Inappropriate conduct may result in removal from the infield or facility.
10.  For those events where seeding is based on a timed qualification, riders withdrawing after qualifications and before the first heats are established will be replaced by the next fastest rider. After the rounds commence, no one will move in to the vacated position, and the result will be left blank.
11.  500 Meter Time Trial will be run as two-up heats with the rider starting on the back straight.
12.  Kilometer Time Trial will be run as two-up heats with one rider starting on the home straight and the other on the back straight.
13.  3000 Meter Time Trial and 4000 Meter Time Trial will be run as two-up heats with one rider starting on the home straight and the other on the back straight.  Any rider who is caught, must finish the distance to have their time recorded.  Do not draft or repass.
14.  For all Team Pursuit competitions, the riders shall start either side by side or staggered at an angle of 45 degrees behind the start line.
15.  Men and Women Team Pursuits will be conducted over 3km, with a minimum of 3 riders and a maximum of 4 riders per team. No composite teams allowed. Except for the distance and number of competitors, team pursuit rules (mishaps, etc.) apply as written. Team pursuits will be conducted with only one team on the track at a time. Teams will start on the home straight.
16.  Collegiate Team Sprint will be conducted with only one team on the track at a time, during the Friday evening session. It will be run over 2km (6 laps), with a minimum of 2 riders and a maximum of 6 riders per team. No composite teams allowed. Each team must have at least 1 woman and no more than 4 men per team. Women must lead the team for a minimum of 2 laps. Teams will be timed on the leading wheel of the first rider. Only standard drop handlebars are allowed.
17.  Points Races will be conducted as follows: Men’s heats, if necessary, will be 16km (48 laps) and the final will be 30km (90 laps). Women’s final will be 20 km (60 laps). Sprints will be every 2km (6 laps). Ties on points are broken by order of finish in the final sprint.
18.  The top 18 riders will advance from the 200m qualifying time trial in the Men Sprints.
19.  The top 12 riders will advance from the 200m qualifying time trial in the Women Sprints.
20.  All bicycles must comply with UCI regulations pertaining to the track. Riders must present their bicycles for inspection prior to taking the track for their start.
21.  Antidoping Testing may be conducted by USADA for this event in accordance with USADA regulations. 

This Article Published September 14, 2011 For more information contact: