Another nineteen Stars-and-Stripes jerseys earned in Rock Hill on Friday


Rock Hill, SC (July 21, 2015) –Nineteen more Stars-and-Stripes jerseys were awarded at the 2015 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships on Friday.  
Annette Williams (Kenmore, Wash./Kenmore Velo) took her third national title of the event on Friday when she beat out Beverly Chaney (Carmel, Calif./SJBC) and Jane Vanni-noone (Indianapolis, Ind./First Internet Bank Cycling Team) in the women's 50-54 individual pursuit. She adds this gold medal to the golds she collected in the sprint and scratch race.   
Glen Winkel (Colorado Springs, Colo./Natural Grocers Cycling Team) also grabbed another gold medal to add to his hardware collection when he bested Steven Worley (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) and Lionel Space (Phoenix, Ariz./Arizona Fasters Cycling) in the men's 60-64 event. Winkel also won the scratch race and points race earlier this week.
Additional races on Friday morning included the Individual pursuits for women 40-44 and men 55-59, and the time trials for women 35-39 and men 40-44.  Full results are here.
Two scratch races were contested on Friday evening: the men 35-39 and men 65-69. In the younger category, Jeffrey Whiteman (Chicago, Ill./Tehuan Management Group) was victorious ahead of silver and bronze medalists Andrew Kruse (Minneapolis, Minn./Revolution Cycling/TwinSix) and Kevin Schiller (San Diego, Calif.), and it was Barry Messmer (Fort Collins, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) to claim the top step of the podium in the men's 65-69 group. He beat out Larry Wolff (Sacramento, Calif./Team Hammer Nutrition) and Thomas Lobdell (Indianapolis, Ind./Speedway Wheelmen).
In the women's 45-49 points race, Dana Walton (E Norriton, Pa./Chester County Cycling Foundation) claimed her third gold medal of this national championship when she scored 36 points to barely edge Catherin Moore (Waco, Texas/Fearless Femme p/b Haute Wheels Racing) for the top step of the podium. Moore scored 35 points while Suzanne Goodwin (McKinney, Texas/McKinney Velo Club) earned the bronze with seven points.
Points races were also contested in men's 70-74, 75-79, 80-84, and 45-49 groups, and six sprint finals took place for women 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74, 75+, and men 50-54.  Results are here.
Action continues at the Giordana Velodrome on Saturday with a similar schedule of pursuits, time trials, sprints, points races, and scratch races and then competition will end on Sunday with the team events.


Women Master 50-54 Pursuit

1.  Annette Williams (Kenmore, Wash.)   Kenmore Velo   2:45.482 
2.  Beverly Chaney (Carmel, Calif.)   SJBC   2:50.650 
3.  Jane Vanni-noone (Indianapolis, Ind.)   First Internet Bank Cycling Team   2:52.195 

Women Master 40-44 Pursuit

1.  Jenette Williams (Proctorville, Ohio)      2:48.043 
2.  Cindi Vargas (Humble, Texas)   Matrix Cycling Club   2:57.564 
3.  Cristel Santiago (Wildwood, Mo.)   Mesa Cycles Penrose Park Velo Team   2:58.331 

Men Master 60-64 Pursuit

1.  Glen Winkel Ph.d. (Colorado Springs, Colo.)   Natural Grocers Cycling Team   2:31.775 
2.  Steven Worley (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Orthopedics   2:32.286 
3.  Lionel Space (Phoenix, Ariz.)   Arizona Faster Cycling   2:37.827 

Men Master 55-59 Pursuit

1.  Grant Soma (Manassas, Va.)   Saroff Racing Team   2:30.925 
2.  James Host (Plainfield, Ill.)   Pact- DISH Network Cycling   2:31.124 
3.  Russell Murphy (Kirkwood, Mo.)   Mesa Cycles Penrose Park Velo Team   2:31.685 

Men Master 40-44 Time Trial

1.  Mark Andersen (San Francisco, Calif.)   Performance Cycle Coaching   1:08.749 
2.  Karl Baumgart (SCOTTSDALE AZ)   GPE Racing p/b Athlete Octane   1:09.964 
3.  Jason Garner (Glenview, Ill.)   Tehuan Management Group   1:10.714 

Women Master 35-39 Time Trial

1.  Samantha Bendt (Rock Hill, S.C.)   Carolina Cycling Team   42.243 

Men Master 65-69 Scratch Race

1.  Barry Messmer (Fort Collins, Colo.)   Boulder Orthopedics    
2.  Larry Wolff (Sacramento, Calif.)   Team Hammer Nutrition    
3.  Thomas Lobdell (Indianapolis, Ind.)   Speedway Wheelmen    

Men 1/2/3 Master 35-39 Scratch Race

1.  Jeffrey Whiteman (Chicago, Ill.)   Tehuan Management Group    
2.  Andrew Kruse (Minneapolis, Minn.)   Revolution Cycle/Twin Six    
3.  Kevin Schiller (San Diego, Calif.)       

Men Master 70-74 Points Race

1.  Michael Williams (Metairie, La.)      13 
2.  Leo Menestrina (Gilroy, Calif.)   Alto Velo Racing Club   6 
3.  Jurgen Leiser (Colorado Spgs, Colo.)      0 

Men Master 75-79 Points Race

1.  James Kloss (Huntington Beach, Calif.)   South Bay Wheelmen   18 
2.  J Robert Beck (Hanover Park, Ill.)   Midwest Masters Cycling Team   4 
3.  Marshall Gordon (Hendersonville, N.C.)   Midwest Masters Cycling Team   -20 

Men Master 80-84 Points Race

1.  Thomas O'rourke (Westbloomfield, Mich.)   Cadieux Bicycle Club   2 
996.  David Ellefson (Banner Elk, N.C.)   360 Racing   0 

Women 1/2/3 Master 45-49 Points Race

1.  Dana Walton (E Norriton, Pa.)   Chester County Cycling Foundation   36 
2.  Catherine Moore (Waco, Texas)   Fearless Femme p/b Haute Wheels Racing   35 
3.  Suzanne Goodwin (Mckinney, Texas)   McKinney Velo Club   7 

Men 1/2/3 Master 45-49 Points Race

1.  Patrick Warner (Boulder, Colo.)   Stages Cycling   36 
2.  Daniel Casper (Northfield, Minn.)   Donkey Label   29 
3.  Kurt Begemann (Westford, Mass.)   Begemann Racing Systems   14 

Women Master 55-59 Sprint

1.  Lorraine Jarvis (Santa Rosa, Calif.)   Mellow Motors   13.530 
2.  Elizabeth Heller (St. Louis, Mo.)   Mesa Cycles Penrose Park Velo Team   14.580 

Women Master 60-64 Sprint

1.  Lan Tran (San Diego, Calif.)   San Diego Cyclo Vets   14.521 
996.  Melanie Peterson (Hawthorne, Calif.)   South Bay Wheelmen    

Women Master 65-69 Sprint

1.  Patricia Riddle (La Jolla, Calif.)   Eddie B Cycling   16.627 
2.  Jo Johnson (Wilmington, Del.)   Riptide Cycling   16.442 

Women Master 70-74 Sprint

1.  Bonnie Woodbury (Escondido, Calif.)   Eddie B Cycling    

Women Master 75+ Sprint

1.  Patricia Baker (Laguna Hills, Calif.)   San Diego Cyclo Vets   21.776 

Men Master 50-54 Sprint

1.  Brian Abers (Aloha, Ore.)   BRIHOP Cycling   11.443 
2.  Wilhelmus Zegers (Weston, Fla.)   Chester County Cycling Foundation   11.592 
3.  Matthew Diefenbach (Pottstown, Pa.)   Team Alliance Environmental   11.672 

This Article Updated September 24, 2015 @ 03:58 PM For more information contact: