38 titles awarded at 2014 Amateur BMX National Championships


Ryan Pettigrew battles Ponton Cary in a 16 y.o. boys challenge class race
Ryan Pettigrew battles Ponton Cary in a 16 y.o. boys challenge class race. Photo: Jerry Landrum/BMXmania.com

Albuquerque, N.M. (May 17, 2014) — The racing was fast and furious on Saturday at the 2014 USA Cycling Amateur BMX National Championships in Albuquerque, N.M. In all, 38 Stars-and-Stripes jerseys were awarded to riders in both the cruiser and challenge classes, with age categories ranging from five to 30 and older.

Albuquerque’s Duke City BMX hosted the day’s racing, which was part of the USA BMX Spring Nationals weekend. In addition to a national championship, riders also competed for spots on Team USA at the 2014 UCI BMX World Championships in Rotterdam, Netherlands, to be held July 22-27.

This event is the third BMX national championship of the year. USA Cycling’s Elite BMX Nationals were held in March, and the Collegiate BMX Nationals took place in April. Most of today’s competitors will continue racing on Sunday in the Spring Nationals. Fans can tune in to live audio brought to you by USA BMX at www.usabmx.com/webcast. You can also find updates from the races on Twitter at @ABABMX or on the USA BMX Facebook page.


2014 USA Cycling Amateur BMX National Championships

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Saturday, May 17, 2014



16 & Under Girls: Antonia Faught (Livermore, Calif./ THR/Haro)
17-29 Women: Jaydra Kinsey (Bend, Ore./Blackbox Ind)
30 & Over Women: Heather Allred (Murray, Utah/Factory GT)

12 & Under Boys: Haigen Smith (Leander, Texas)
13-14 Boys: Hunter Brown (W Bountiful, Utah/Extreme Team)
15-16 Boys: Jacob Staten (Las Vegas, Nev.)
17-24 Men: Alec Nesbitt (Phoenix, Ariz.)
25-29 Men: Maurice Horton (San Francisco, Calif.)
30-34 Men: Jonas Harmon (Layton, Utah/GT)
35-39 Men: Chris Knapp (Phoenix, Ariz./Gordy's Bike Shop)
40-44 Men: Scott Moreland (Indianapolis, Ind.)
45 & Over Men: George Goodall (Chandler, Ariz./Redline)


Men's 25-29 Challenge Class Podium
Matthew Baisley topped the men's 25-29 challenge class podium. Photo: Jerry Landrum/BMXmania.com


5-7 Girls: Kaitlynn Ford (Amarillo, Texas/Mayhem BMX)
8 Girls: Katja Shriver (Downey, Calif./J&R)
9 Girls: Mikaela McEvoy (Inwood, W.V./Time2shinebmx.com)
10 Girls: Richelle Shriver (Downey, Calif./J&R)
11 Girls: Esja Shriver (Downey, Calif./J&R)
12 Girls: Jaycie Sinclair (Spring, Texas)
13 Girls: Jordan Scott (Henderson, Nev./Factory Redman Rockstar)
14 Girls: Kaitlyn Deters (St. Peters, Mo.)
15 Girls: Sophia Foresta (South Jordan, Utah)
16 Girls: Kelsey Van Ogle (Auburn, Wash.)
17 & Over Women: Carly Dyar (Gilbert, Ariz./Redline)

5 & 6 Boys: Cane Wood (Yukon, Okla.)
7 Boys: Deegan Warnock (Yuma, Ariz.)
8 Boys: Ronnie Kim (Corona, Calif.)
9 Boys: Cannon Wood (Yukon, Okla.)
10 Boys: Connor Defrain (La Palma, Calif./ Haro/Promax)
11 Boys: Jack Kelly (Kearns, Utah)
12 Boys: Patrick Coo (Bellflower, Calif.)
13 Boys: Roman Jaworsky (Las Vegas, Nev./Factory Redman Rockstar)
14 Boys: Aram Schwinn (Magnolia, Texas/Hostile Elite)
15 Boys: Michael Gonzales (Watsonville, Calif./Hyper Bicycles)  
16 Boys: Ryan Pettigrew (Watsonville, Calif.)
17-24 Men: Brandon Cato (Oakland, Calif.)
25-29 Men: Matthew Baisley (Meridian, Ind./ Fly/Supercross/Arisun)
30 & Over Men: Tim Kneip (Austin, Texas/CCH Bicycles)
Masters Men: Stephen Larralde (Riverside, Calif.)

This Article Updated May 18, 2014 @ 04:28 AM For more information contact: