Weekly Collegiate Racing Wrap - February 25, 2013


MWCCC: Season Opener at Lindsey Wilson College – by Sarah Lukas

Ashley James wearing the MWCCC JAKROO leader's jersey in Sunday's crit.
Ashley James wearing the MWCCC JAKROO leader's jersey in Sunday's crit.
The season opener for the MWCCC took place at Lindsey Wilson College in Columbia, Kentucky with a record turnout for the conference of over 250 riders each day of racing. Marian University started the weekend off strong winning Saturday’s Team Time Trials in both the Men’s and Women’s A’s. The road races took place later that day on a challenging 25 mile lap course. After an early attack by Rachel Byus (Lindenwood Uni.), the field pulled her back and the intensity began on the last lap. Marian University were strong contenders in the race but were unable to hold off Byus’s teammate, Ashley James (Lindenwood Uni.), who out-climbed Coryn Rivera (Marian Uni.) for the first win of the season. The men’s race had Alex Meyer (UW-Madison) making an attack to form a 4-man break. The break stayed together until the final climb where Meyer put in his final attack to beat out Adam Leibovitz (Marian Uni.) and Johnathan Freter (Lindenwood Uni.) for the win and into the JAKROO leader’s jersey.
Sunday’s criterium races showed the women’s race starting off strong from the beginning. The Marian women’s team had an impressive ride by creating a 3-woman break including Jacqueline Kurth, Coryn Rivera, and Allie Dragoo. The break lapped the field and Rivera came away with Sunday’s victory. Both the women’s road race and crit were won on cyclocross bikes. The men’s race had a much larger group of about 9 riders that broke away early in the race. This group lapped the field and settled back in for a final field sprint. Chase groups formed but none were successful leaving one of the riders from the break, Weston Luzadder (Marian Uni.) open to win the field sprint as well as the race. The placings from the weekend’s races put two Marian riders, Coryn Rivera and Stephan Hirsch, into the JAKROO leaders’ jerseys for next weekend’s races at DePauw University.

WCCC: UCSC Slug Fest – by Kirsten Pearsons

Danielle Haulman, who now wears the JAKROO leader's jersey, leads riders up the climb in the women's A race.
Danielle Haulman, who now wears the JAKROO leader's jersey, leads riders up the climb in the women's A race.
While the rest of the country continues to thaw from winter storms, the WCCC got to take full advantage of the California sun this weekend’s ‘Slug Fest’ hosted by UC Santa Cruz. Saturday’s road race took place on their hilly campus and included quite the kicker of a hill followed by a sweeping descent and a spectacular ocean view. Keith Wong took first in Men’s A for Stanford with James Enright (Cal State SF) taking second and current conference leader and wearer of the JAKROO leader’s jersey John Tomlinson (USC) taking third. Katharine Hall of UC Berkeley took first in women’s A with Erica Greif (UNR) and Danielle Haulman (UC Davis) close behind in second and third.
James Enright took first in Sunday’s flat but fun counter-clockwise criterium with Andreas Freud (UC Berkeley) and Blake Anton (Cal Poly SLO) securing second and third in Men’s A. Working together off the front of the Women’s A field, Danielle Haulman and Erica Grief moved up to first and second (Danielle in first) with Diana Lin taking third for Stanford. Overall, UCSC hosted a great weekend with over 180 racers in attendance. Next weekend the WCCC will visit the coast again for UC Santa Barbara’s races, hope to see you there!

SECCC: FSU Cycling's Seminole Cycling Classic - by Jack Tomassetti

The FSU women's A criterium
The FSU women's A criterium
The local weather man predicted monsoon-like rain storms this past weekend for FSU Cycling's Seminole Cycling Classic in Monticello, Florida.  That didn't stop team from all over the southeast to make the trip to Florida for the second collegiate race of the season.  Even Solymar Riveria-Torres flew in to represent the new University of Puerto Rico team in their first collegiate race.
As usual, the weather man got it wrong and the road races took off relatively dry.  In the Men's A race, a breakaway group rode away with the race and Clemson's Alex Kellum won the sprint for the win.  Current conference leader and owner of the JAKROO leader’s jersey Rebecca Whitsitt worked over a large women's field to win the bunch sprint in the Women's A race.
Rain finally started to come in during the time trials.  The University of Florida won the Men's Team Time-Trial by 11 seconds over Cumberland University, while the King College Women edged out the Lees-McRae Women by a close 9 seconds on the 7 mile course.  Men's conference leader and JAKROO jersey holder Spencer Oswald of Lees-McRae won an incredible ITT with the fastest time of the day (even among the teams) after racing in the Lees-McRae Team Time Trial 30 minutes earlier.  Kira Miacke of the University of Georgia won the Women's ITT.
Sunny weather resumed for the Monticello Downtown crit.  Lees-McRae, University of Florida and Cumberland pushed the pace in the Men's A crit to form a good size breakaway.  Zac Felpel won the final sprint and took home another win for Lees-McRae.  Kate Ross of King College won the bunch sprint in the Women's A crit.
The SECCC head to Georgia Tech on March 9-10 on its next step to the road to Ogden.

ACCC: William & Mary Race Weekend – by Will Massey and Mike Young

 The ACCC headed to historic Williamsburg, VA this past weekend for the second race of the season hosted by William and Mary.  Saturday's weather looked pretty ominous as riders headed out for the 9.4 mile loop road race but by the time the afternoon rolled around temperatures got a little warmer and the drizzling rained stopped.  
Women's A racers rolled off the line at combined with the women's 1/2/3 field and despite attack after attack the race seemed to be turning into a group sprint for the finish.  With one lap to go a strong attack from App State launched and seemed to have the right representation but the group was unable to get organized and before long came back to the field. As the riders turned off of the loop to head towards the painful false flat uphill finish, Caroline Moakley (NCSU) lead the way but Alena Pugacheva (VCU) took the win at the line with Kay Comer (VT) taking second and Nina Laughlin (ASU) rounding out the podium. 
In the men’s A race, right out of the gun Duke launched attack after attack.  Multiple times over the one steep kicker on the course the pack seemed to be breaking, but lap after lap it rejoined and the attacking continued.  Even after setting the pace and chasing down attacks for most of the day, Kevin Gottlieb (UVA) was able to sneak away solo with one and a half to go.  The chase never got organized and NC State and Duke took advantage by sending one of their own up the road and joining up with UVA.  In the end those three would never see the pack again with Matt Rinehart (Duke) taking the win followed by Kevin Gottlieb (UVA) and Stephen Smith (NCSU) finishing 2nd and 3rd respectively.  The rest of the pack charged hard into the finish and Navy's Andrew Flegge took the field sprint for 4th.

Navy’s luck unfortunately didn’t continue through Sunday as a Naval Academy rider capsized hard during the men’s A criterium, resulting in a field vote to end the race prematurely. The extremely compact, horseshoe-shaped crit course was less than half a mile in length and tested the handling and cornering abilities of every rider. Nina Laughlin and Kelly Perkins of ASU took first and second in the women’s A criteritum, with Kaylan Comer of VT rounding out the podium.


This Article Updated February 25, 2013 @ 02:24 PM For more information contact: