USA Cycling introduces Safety and Anti-doping Committees


(April 18, 2016) – USA Cycling is pleased to announce two new advisory committees which will support the organization in its efforts to increase safety and ensure clean competition in American bike racing.
cornering clinic beginning racer program
USA Cycling named the USAC Safety and Anti-Doping Committees on Monday.

The members of the new Safety and Anti-Doping Committees are volunteers from diverse backgrounds and are considered experts in their fields. They were chosen from a combined pool of more than 200 applicants and their role will be both to advise USA Cycling on actions to take and to evaluate the impact of those actions.
SAFETY COMMITTEE – The Safety Committee is comprised of 11 experts from the fields of medicine, data analysis, cycling event promotion and officiating, and competitive cycling. The initial focus of this group will be to gather and evaluate existing data on bike racing accidents and to establish a set of recommendations for USA Cycling based on any risk factors identified. The following individuals make up the Safety Committee:
Mark Alberg – Medicine of Cycling* member, athletic trainer and coordinator for Tour of America’s Dairyland
Dr. Grant Baldwin – PhD specializing in injury prevention at the Centers for Disease Control
Dr. Keith Borg – MD in emergency medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina, Race Director for multiple UCI events, including 2015 UCI Road World Championships
Dr. Steve Broglio – Medicine of Cycling* member, PhD and ATC specializing in concussion studies at the University of Michigan
Dr. Mark Greve – Medicine of Cycling* member, MD in emergency medicine
Chuck Hodge – USA Cycling Technical Director
Ted King – Former professional cyclist, member of the Association of North American Professional Road Cyclists
Malcolm McCollam – Attorney, specialist in event management, Race Director for Tulsa Tough
Ruth Shapiro – Attorney specializing in risk management and loss prevention
Sallie Urffer – Race official, data analyst in the medical field
Laura van Gilder – Former professional and current Cat. 1 cyclist with 25 years of racing experience
*Medicine of Cycling is an organization independent of USA Cycling comprised of doctors, athletic trainers, physical therapists and medical professionals dedicated to cycling related medical education, guidelines and research.
ANTI-DOPING COMMITTEE – The Anti-Doping Committee is comprised of eight anti-doping experts, including several world leaders in the field. This group will help USA Cycling to determine how it can best reduce banned doping practices within amateur and professional cycling in America. The committee’s focus will be to determine the optimal level of testing to cost effectively create a credible deterrent, recommend what other actions USA Cycling can take to reduce doping (e.g., education) and evaluate the effectiveness of USA Cycling’s anti-doping efforts over time. The following individuals make up the Anti-Doping Committee:
Dr. Paul Dimeo – Associate Professor in the Faculty of Health Sciences and Sport at the University of Stirling leading international anti-doping researcher
Dr. John Gleaves – Associate Professor of Kinesiology at California State University-Fullerton, doping research expert with a focus on ethics and cycling
Dr. Brendon Hale – Specialist in human performance and neuroscience, consultant to the Royal Health Awareness Society, race director for North Star Bicycle Festival
Dr. April Henning  – Post-Doctoral Fellow in behavioral sciences, sociologist with a focus on doping’s Impact on amateur athletes
Olivier de Hon –Scientific Affairs Manager for the National Anti-Doping Organization of the Netherlands
Uli Fluhme – Wall Street attorney, anti-doping activist, Gran Fondo NY Co-Founder
Dr. Kristen Keim – Clinical and Sport Psychologist, member of USOC Sport Psychology and Mental Training registry, specialist in psychology of cheating and doping
Jon Whiteman – USA Cycling Risk Protection Manager
USA Cycling would like to thank everyone who showed interest in participating on these two committees.

This Article Updated April 18, 2016 @ 09:27 PM For more information contact: