Track Nationals continue with junior and elite competition on Wednesday


Carson, Calif. (August 2, 2017) – Juniors continued racing at the 2017 Junior and Elite Track National Championships on Wednesday while the elite riders also entered the scene. In all, 16 national champions were crowned on day three.
During the morning session, several finals were held in the 15-16 and 17-18 age groups while the elite riders began with their qualifying rounds in the team pursuits and team sprints.
With four gold medals over the last three days, including a points race win during Wednesday’s morning session, Peter Moore (Saint Paul, Minn./Donkey Label) was crowned junior men’s 15-16 omnium national champion. JeanLuc Contant-Galitello (Pompano Beach, Fla.) and Billy Taylor (New York, NY/Star Track Racing) were second and third in the five event series.
In the women’s 15-16 omnium, it was Zoe Ta-Perez (Orange, Calif./Sho-Air TWENTY20) to take the top step of the podium. She claimed the national title with a win in the scratch race on Monday and then four silver medals including the one she earned on Wednesday in the points race. Runners up in the omnium were Megan Jastrab (Apple Valley, Calif./iCademy) in second and Sophia Shuhay (New Tripoli, Pa./T-Town Elite) in third.
Sandor Delgado (Hialeah, Fla./D Professional), Zachary Gottesman (Greenbrae, Calif./NCCF/Team Specialized), and Jules Gilliam (Manhattan Beach, Calif./NCCF/Team Specialized) teamed up to win the national title in the men’s 17-18 team sprint. Later during the morning session, Colby Lange (Edwards, Colo./LUX/Strading p/b Sp) combined efforts with Riley Sheehan (Boulder, Colo./LUX/Strading p/b Sp), Kendrick Boots (Centennial, Colo./Groove Subaru Excel), and Justin Butsavage (Macungie, Pa./T-Town Elite) to grab the podium’s top step in the men’s 17-18 team pursuit.
In the women’s 17-18 category, Eva Burke (Macungie, Pa./Sprinter’s Edge Track) and Allyson Wasielewski (Orefield, Pa./Sprinter’s Edge Track) won the team sprint while McKenzie Steiner (Del Mar, Calif./Swami’s Junior Development), Sawyer Taylor (San Rafael, Calif./JAKROO), Alijah Beatty (Washington, Iowa/NorthStar Development), and Claire Reeves (Grand Rapids, Mich./Sprinter’s Edge) won the gold medal in the team pursuit.
When the evening session rolled around, ten more national championships were determined, including four in the elite categories.
The Liberty Town Donkey Team of Gregorino Cordasco (Basking Ridge, NJ/Liberty Cycle), Peter Moore (Saint Paul, Minn./Donkey Label), Nathan Roberts (Whitehall, Pa./T-Town Elite), and Billy Taylor (New York, NY/Star Track Racing) won the men’s 15-16 team pursuit ahead of the silver medal winning iCAdemy squad of Roberto Perez (Fullerton, Calif./Team Velocity), Ryder Phillips (Redondo Beach, Calif./iCademy), Erik Castillo (Duarte, Calif./NCCF/Team Specialized).  Moore and Taylor then teamed up with Geneway Tang (Queens Village, NY/Star Track Racing) to take the gold medal in their age group’s team sprint ahead of the silver medalist trio of Colin Crane (Houston, Texas/Momentum Coaching Group), Max Browne (Houston, Texas/Momentum Coaching Group), and Sam Riess (Phoenix, Ariz./Strada Racing Club).
In the women’s 15-16 team pursuit, Megan Jastrab (Apple Valley, Calif./iCademy), Zoe Ta-Perez (Orange, Calif./Sho-Air TWENTY20 Development), and Emma Workowski (Kutztown, Pa./Burner Fitness) made up the team of Fast Not Furious and won the gold medal. Second place went to Zoom Zoom which was comprised of Kayla Hankins (Scottsdale, Ariz./Velo Track Cycling), Bridget Tooley (Frisco, Texas /Sun & Skit Women’s Racing), and Paige Zizka (Katy, Texas/Northwest Cycling). Later in the evening, Ta-Perez combined forces with Sophia Shuhay (New Triploi, Pa./T-Town Elite) to win the women’s 15-16 team sprint.
Keirins were also held on Wednesday night for men and women 15-18 and were won by Alijah Beatty (Washington, Iowa/Northstar Development) and Sandor Delgado (Hialeah, Fla./D Professional).
Adrian Hegyvary (Asheville, NC/UnitedHealthcare), Gavin Hoover (Manhattan Beach, Calif./iCademy), Daniel Holloway (Boulder, Colo.), and Daniel Summerhill (Centennial, Colo.) got the catch in the elite men’s team pursuit to take the gold medal ahead of Charles Cassin (Boulder, Colo./303 Project), Zachary Kovalcik (Portland, Ore.), John Croom (Rock Hill, SC/Levine Law Group), and Noah Granigan (Cape May Court House).
In the elite women’s team pursuit, Macc Attack took the gold medal when its members Christina Birch (Los Angeles, Calif./Keirin Cut Jeans), Amanda Seigle (Citrus Heights, Calif./JAKROO), Catherine Moore (Denton, Texas/Bicycles Plus Racing), and Molly Van Houweling (Berkeley, Calif./JL Velo Cycling Team) caught silver medalists SDBC/Emerald Textile which was made up of Esther Walker (San Diego, Calif.), Katherine Nadler, Patricia Murray, and Heather Johnson (Portland, Ore.). The Team Why Not squad of Ruth Clemence (Newport Beach, Calif./Sisterhood of Cyclig),  Jan Palchikoff (Los Angeles, Calif./ironfly), Charlene Yarnall (San Clemente, Calif./Veloce Santiago), and Karlene Rahn (Mira Loma, Calif./Veloce Santiago) won the bronze.
The evening session concluded with the elite team sprints. In the women’s competition, Madalyn Godby (Louisville, Colo.) and Mandy Marquardt (Allentwon, Pa./Team Novo Nordisk) won the gold ahead of Dana Feiss (Colorado Springs, Colo./Star Track Racing) and Sarah Fader (Boulder, Colo.). McKenzie Browne (Coopersburg, Pa./Sprinter’s Edge) and Eva Burke (Macungie, Pa./Sprinter’s Edge) won the bronze.
In the elite men’s team sprint, Joe Christiansen (Lyons, Colo./Star Track), Joshua Hartman (Brooklyn, NY/Star Track Racing), and Dominic Suozzi (Star Track Racing) won gold ahead of runners up Jamie Alvord (Allentown, Pa./Sprinter’s Edge), James Mellen (Schnecksville, Pa./Sprinter’s Edge), and Tommy Quinn (Royersford, Pa./Sprinter’s Edge).
On Thursday, the elites will begin their individual competitions with the time trials, individual pursuits, and scratch races. The juniors will also contest individual pursuits and time trials in the 17-18 group and the women’s Madison for 15-18 and men’s Madison for 16-18.  
For updates on the event, follow #TrackNats on twitter. You can also see the links below:
Complete Results
11-16 Omnium Standings
Photo Gallery
Event webpage

This Article Updated August 5, 2017 @ 03:17 PM For more information contact: