TIBCO dominates 2013 Women’s Prestige Series


Takes team classification and two of three jerseys
Minneapolis, Minn. (July 31, 2013) — When the dust settled after the grand finale of the 10th Anniversary Women’s Prestige Cycling Series at the BMC Cascade Classic, TIBCO-To the Top had completed a near-clean sweep.
Claudia Haeusler claimed the Individual classification at the 2013 Women’s Prestige Cycling Series
Claudia Haeusler claimed the Individual classification at the 2013 Women’s Prestige Cycling Series. (Photo courtesy: Team TIBCO-To the Top)
TIBCO-To the Top won the team classification of the 2013 Series in impressive fashion, beating second place Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies by almost 500 points (1,118 vs. 626). Contributing to the TIBCO total was Shelley Olds win at the Nature Valley Grand Prix and TIBCO placing four riders in the top ten at Cascade.

Claudia Haeusler (GER/TIBCO-To the Top) claimed the Individual classification with 344 points. In a true tour de force, she was followed by TIBCO teammates Joanne Kiesanowski (214) and Shelley Olds (200) in second and third, respectively. Haeusler also holds a commanding, probably insurmountable, lead in the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar (NRC), a testament to the outstanding season that this 27-year old rider who hails from Munich, Germany, is having.

Kiesanowski also took the series sprinter’s jersey with 308 points, but TIBCO didn’t dominate this classification. There was a virtual tie for Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies teammates Jade Wilcoxson and Leah Kirchmann, with Wilcoxson edging Kirchmann by a mere four points (264 vs. 260).

"The Women's Prestige Cycling Series was one of our season goals," said Linda Jackson, owner of Team TIBCO-To the Top. "Winning the team, individual and sprint classifications helps to validate all of the hard work that we've been doing. It was a huge team effort, and I want to thank Manel (Lacambra) especially for all of the great work he has done with our athletes this year."

The only classification that TIBCO didn’t dominate was the Best Young Rider, which was won by Optum’s Denise Ramsden (274 points), who beat teammate Kirchmann by 10 points and TIBCO’s Jasmin Glaesser by 40 points.

The Redlands Classic (April 4–7) was the first stop on the tenth anniversary edition of the Women's Prestige Cycling Series, which continued at the Nature Valley Grand Prix in Minnesota (June 12-16). The series has concluded with the Bend Memorial Clinic Cascade Cycling Classic (July 16-21) in Oregon. The series is funded by the participating events, with jerseys donated by Champion Systems.

This Article Updated August 1, 2013 @ 06:15 PM For more information contact: