Ten named to USA Cycling funded team for BMX SX World Cups 1 & 2


USA Cycling is pleased to announce the roster of ten athletes it will send to rounds one and two of the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup in Chula Vista, Calif. and Randaberg, Norway. The Chula Vista World Cup will kick off the season March 30-31 at the United States Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista.
The U.S. team will be looking to build upon its success in last season's final world cup in Chula Vista.
The U.S. team will be looking to build upon its success in last season's final world cup in Chula Vista.
Both events will count toward the 2011-2012 UCI BMX Nations rankings; which as of May 28, 2012 will determine each nation’s number of start spots for the 2012 Olympic Games set for August 9-10 in London. The United States currently sits in third place in the men’s overall nations rankings and in second in the ladies,’ putting them in current position to send a full contingent of BMX athletes to the Games with three men and two women.
Five riders will make up the USA Cycling men’s funded team with the top three Americans in the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup rankings receiving automatic nominations. After earning the bronze at last summer’s BMX Olympic Test Event and World Cup #3 Nic Long (Lakeside, Calif./Haro Bikes) will help lead the Americans on their home turf in Chula Vista and on to Norway. David Herman (Wheat Ridge, Colo./Free Agent-Rockstar), bronze-medalist from the 2011 Chula Vista World Cup, also received an automatic nomination and will be joined on the squad by Connor Fields (Henderson, Nev./Chase BMX) who won the series’ final round in Chula Vista last fall. Rounding out the men’s team will be discretionary picks, Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz./GT Bicycles) and Mike Day (San Diego, Calif./GT Bicycles). Sharrah won last season’s UCI BMX Supercross World Cup round 1 contest in South Africa and Day is best known as the silver medalist from the inaugural Olympic BMX competition in Beijing.
Five talented ladies will make up the women’s team as Arielle Martin (Spanaway, Wash./Intense BMX) and Brooke Crain (Visalia, Calif./Haro Bikes) both earned automatic nominations to the team by virtue of their fifth- and sixth-place rankings in the UCI’S Supercross World Cup standings. The pair are fresh off a one-two finish at the final SX World Cup last season in Chula Vista. Amanda Geving (Largo, Fla./MCS Bicycles), reigning USA Cycling BMX National Champion Alise Post (Saint Cloud, Minn./Redline) and Amanda Carr (Punta Gorda, Fla./Endeavor-Paul Williams) will also represent USA Cycling as a discretionary selections in both Chula Vista and Randaberg.
Bios for all of these Olympic hopeful athletes can be found online at usacycling.org/bios.
Both the Chula Vista, Calif. and Randaberg, Norway Supercross World Cups are open to all elite and junior-level championship class riders, born before 1995, that hold a USA Cycling BMX international license. Eligible riders can register for the Chula Vista event beginning Feb. 29 by logging on to their My USA Cycling account. Registration will close at 5 p.m. MST on March 15, 2012.
Find out more information on the UCI BMX Supercross World Cups via USA Cycling’s 2012 BMX Supercross World Cups webpage or the UCI’s BMX Supercross World Cups website.
2012 UCI BMX Supercross World Cups #1 and #2
The American ladies of Arielle Martin and Brooke Crain went one, two in the 2011 Chula Vista BMX SX World Cup last fall.
The American ladies of Arielle Martin and Brooke Crain went one, two in the 2011 Chula Vista BMX SX World Cup last fall.
Chula Vista, Calif.  -  March 30-31
Randaberg, Norway – April 13-14
 USA Cycling Funded Team:
  1. Nic Long (Lakeside, Calif./Haro Bikes)*
  2. David Herman (Wheat Ridge, Colo./Free Agent-Rockstar)*
  3. Connor Fields (Henderson, Nev./Chase BMX)*
  4. Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz./GT Bicycles)
  5.  Mike Day (San Diego, Calif./GT Bicycles)
  1. Arielle Martin (Spanaway, Wash./Intense BMX)*
  2. Brooke Crain (Visalia, Calif./Haro Bikes)*
  3. Amanda Geving (Largo, Fla./MCS Bicycles)
  4. Alise Post (Saint Cloud, Minn./Redline)
  5. Amanda Carr (Punta Gorda, Fla./ Endeavor-Paul Williams)

*denotes automatic nomination

Related Articles

This Article Published February 27, 2012 For more information contact:
USACDFShimanoCUOREEndurance ConspiracySierra NevadaOSMOBonk Breaker
UCI USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States. The 501c3, membership-based organization aims both to achieve sustained success in international cycling competition and to grow competitive cycling in America while delivering an exceptional customer experience.
View Children's Online Privacy Protection Policy
US Olympic Committee