Seven national titles on the line this weekend at the last 24-Hour MTB Nationals


Colorado Springs, Colo. (June 12, 2014) – This weekend, the fittest endurance mountain bikers in the United States will head to the Zuni Mountains of New Mexico to battle it out for national titles at the USA Cycling 24-Hour Mountain Bike National Championships.
This will be the last year USA Cycling holds a national championship in 24-hour mountain biking.
Held in conjunction with the 24 Hours in the Enchanted Forest, the national championship event will award seven national titles in seven categories.
Seven Stars-and-Stripes jerseys up for grabs!
Solo Male
Solo Female
Singlespeed Male
Singlespeed Female
4-Person Open Team
4-Person Junior Female Team
4-Person Junior Male Team
Nine additional non-championship categories
Solo Fat Bike
Duo: Female, Male, and Singlespeed
4-Person: Female, Male, and Singlespeed
5-Person: Open
Corporate: up to 10 riders
Racing gets underway at 11 a.m. on Saturday, June 14, and concludes at 11 a.m. on Sunday when each rider's completed laps will be counted toward their overall placing. 
The course
The 2014 event will feature the same course that was used in 2013 with a single lap stretching 19.7 miles. Almost entirely single track except for a small segment near the staging area, the fast and rolling course features 7,785 feet of elevation above sea level.
Riders to watch

In 2013, the legendary Tinker Juarez (Whittier, Calif.) took the national title in the men's solo race while Nina Baum (Albuquerque, NM) claimed victory in the women's solo competition. This year, Juarez is not on the start list which leaves the men's race wide open. Be on the lookout for big moves from riders like Hunter Keating (Gilbert, Ariz./Harmony Systems Pro Cycling), who was third last year, and endurance strongman Josh Tostado (Breckenridge, Colo.), who is recently off a win at the 12 Hours of Mesa Verde. In the women's event, Baum will be back to ride in defense of her title but she'll face some tough competition from riders like Tracy Thelen (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and Laureen Coffelt (Memphis, Tenn.) who placed second and fifth, respectively, last year.
For live updates throughout the event, follow @ZiaRides on Twitter. The official Twitter hashtag for the event is #24hrNats.

This Article Updated June 13, 2014 @ 03:35 PM For more information contact: