Nobles & Kintner earn pro dual slalom titles at 2013 Gravity MTB Nationals


Jill Kintner handily won the pro women's dual slalom.
Jill Kintner handily won the pro women's dual slalom. Photo: Eddie Clark

Angel Fire, N.M. (August 3, 2013) — BMX riders showed their stuff on the dual slalom course on Saturday, with Barry Nobles (Sun City, Calif./Airborne Bicycles) and Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./ Team Norco International/Red Bull) topping the men’s and women’s pro fields at the 2013 USA Cycling Gravity Mountain Bike National Championships. In addition, six other Stars-and-Stripes jerseys were awarded in amateur categories in dual slalom.

Nobles entered today’s competition as the highest seeded pro male rider, followed by fellow BMX pro Mike Day (Valencia, Calif.) at number two, earning both a first-round bye. In the semi-final, Nobles squared off against Walker Shaw (Hendersonville, N.C./Specialized Gravity USA), who earlier overcame his brother, Luca Shaw (Hendersonville, N.C./Specialized Gravity USA), in the quarterfinals.

Nobles advanced to the finals to face Cody Johnson (San Diego, Calif.). Johnson, who was the fourteenth seed after crashing hard in qualifying yesterday, outraced Day in their semifinal. Day crashed in the second heat of the semi and was unable to ride in the consolation heats, meaning Shaw took third.

“I had a good split in the first [heat]. I almost got the full differential,” said Nobles. “I think I started pacing myself a little too much [in the second run]. I knew as long as I could stay close to Cody — he’s an awesome rider — so as long as I could finish behind him I would make it. It played out in my favor.” Nobles was able to finish close enough in the second heat to claim his first mountain bike Stars-and-Stripes jersey.

Kintner squared off against Christen Boyer (Aspen, Colo.) in a two-rider pro women’s race. The 2008 Olympic bronze medalist in BMX got off to a fast start, beating Boyer by the maximum differential in the first heat. Kintner won the second heat to solidify her claim to the top step of the podium.

Amateur National Championships

Sophia Foresta (South Jordan, Utah), another accomplished BMX rider, topped the field in the women’s open dual slalom to take the national title. “Cornering, putting your foot down and all the pedaling and the jumps — they’re the same kind of thing, so it’s nice to be able to transfer that from BMX to dual slalom,” said Foresta when asked about the comparisons between the two cycling disciplines.

In the juniors men’s 14 & under race, Brad Stover (Rapid City, S.D.) advanced through the four rounds to earn the win. Warren Kniss (Fremont, Calif.) overcame higher seeded riders in each of the three rounds of the juniors men’s 15-18 category 1 race to take the gold medal.

Kai Rogers won the highly-competitive cat 1 men's 19-29 race.
Kai Rogers won the highly-competitive cat 1 men's 19-29 race. Photo: Eddie Clark

In the category 1 men’s 19-29 dual slalom, Kai Rogers (Steamboat Springs, Colo.) lived up to his number one seed to defeat Brett Tetzloff (Tucson, Ariz.) in the finals. Will Murray (Charlotte, N.C.) topped a three-man field in the men’s 30-39 cat 1 race, while James Gillespie (Golden, Colo.) raced to victory in the category 1 men’s 40+ competition.

Category 2/3 Races

In addition to the pro and category 1 races, four category 2/3 dual slalom competitions were held today. Zachary Hutelin (Plantation, Fla.) took home the win in the men’s 15-18 race. Dustin Slaughter (Rogers, Ariz.) topped the podium in the men’s 19-29 competition. Coy Miller (Caseyville, Ill./ Bike Surgeon/Continental Tire) raced to victory in the men’s 30-39 dual slalom. The men’s 40+ win went to Doug Cheney (Syracuse, Utah).

Downhill Finals Tomorrow

The 2013 Gravity MTB Nationals conclude Sunday at the Angel Fire Resort in New Mexico with the downhill competitions. Qualifying runs for three categories were held today. Defending national champion Aaron Gwin (Wildomar, Calif./Specialized Racing DH) posted the fastest time of the day and will be the final starter in the pro men’s field. Kintner had the top time in the pro women’s field and Jay Fesperman (Davidson, N.C./Yeti Cycles) will be the one to beat in the junior men’s 17-18 race. Amateur competition begins at 10 a.m., while the pros and 17-18 men will highlight the afternoon session starting at 2:30 p.m.

For additional event information, daily wrap-ups, photos, results and more, visit the USA Cycling event page at

You can also follow along on Twitter via the USA Cycling account, as well as the hashtag #MTBNats, and like USA Cycling and the Angel Fire Mountain Bike Park on Facebook for additional updates.


2013 USA Cycling Gravity Mountain Bike National Championships
Angel Fire Resort, New Mexico
August 3, 2013


Pro Men’s Dual Slalom
1. Barry Nobles (Sun City, Calif./Airborne Bicycles)
2. Cody Johnson (San Diego, Calif.)
3. Walker Shaw (Hendersonville, N.C./Specialized Gravity USA)
4. Michael Day (Valencia, Calif.)

Pro Women’s Dual Slalom
1. Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./ Team Norco International/Red Bull)
2. Christen Boyer (Aspen, Colo.)

Open Women’s Dual Slalom
1. Sophia Foresta (South Jordan, Utah)
2. Aurelie Cannella (Telluride, Colo.)
3. Leila Carrillo (Durango, Colo./Fort Lewis College)
4. McKenna Merten (Jamul, Calif.)

Jr. Men 14 & Under Dual Slalom
1. Brad Stover (Rapid City, S.D.)
2. Devin Kjaer (Aptos, Calif.)
3. Joseph Foresta (South Jordan, Utah)
4. Shawn Yakovich (Rock Springs, Wyo.)

Jr. Men 15-18 Cat 1 Dual Slalom
1. Warren Kniss (Fremont, Calif.)
2. Tyler Krenek (Tucson, Ariz.)
3. Luca Cometti (San Diego, Calif.)
4. William O'Brien (Durham, N.C.)

Men 19-29 Cat 1 Dual Slalom
1. Kai Rogers (Steamboat Springs, Colo.)
2. Brett Tetzloff (Tucson, Ariz.)
3. Kyle Grau (Terrace Park, Ohio)
4. Robert Nichols (Durango, Colo.)

Masters Men 30-39 Cat 1 Dual Slalom
1. Will Murray (Charlotte, N.C.)
2. Jason Sherrill (Matthews, N.C.)
3. Thomas Rodriguez (Los Lunas, N.M.)

Masters Men 40+ Cat 1 Dual Slalom
1. James Gillespie (Golden, Colo.)
2. Darrell Jamieson (La Center, Wash.)
3. Ian Starr (Frederick, Md.)
4. Darryl Crews (Redondo Beach, Calif.)

Jr. Men 15-18 Cat 2/3 Dual Slalom
1. Zachary Hutelin (Plantation, Fla.)
2. Noah Wenger (Flagstaff, Ariz.)
3. Mateo Ortegon (Marietta, Ga./Cycle Youth)
4. Michael Kane (Simpsonville, S.C.)

Masters Men 19-29 Cat 2/3 Dual Slalom
1. Dustin Slaughter (Rogers, Ariz.)
2. Juan DelCastillo (Angel Fire, N.M.)
3. Jake Rehfeld (Albuquerque, N.M.)
4. Jay Weingardt (Albuquerque, N.M.)

Masters Men 30-39 Cat 2/3 Dual Slalom
1. Coy Miller (Caseyville, Ill./ Bike Surgeon/Continental Tire)
2. Allen Weber (Tijeras, N.M.)
3. Jay Thomas (Saint Louis, Mo.)

Masters Men 40+ Cat 2/3 Dual Slalom
1. Doug Cheney (Syracuse, Utah)
2. F. John Pieper (Durango, Colo.)
3. William Dale (Bentonville, Ariz.)
4. Clint Bullock (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Related Articles

This Article Updated August 4, 2013 @ 09:40 PM For more information contact: