Atkinson, Kintner lead Pro GRT standings after round 3 in Tahoe

Pro GRT Standings
Pro GRT Standings

Pro Mountain Bike Gravity Tour (Pro GRT)

June 29, 2010

Atkinson, Kintner lead Pro GRT after round 3

Truckee, Calif. — USA Cycling continued its 2010 Pro Mountain Bike Gravity Tour (Pro GRT) on Sunday (June 27) at the Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort, the third of five races in the 2010 series.

Greg Minnaar (RSA/Santa Cruz Syndicate), the 2003 UCI Downhill World Champion, won the men’s downhill final with a time of 3:59.9, more than three seconds ahead of runner-up Bryn Atkinson (AUS/Transition Racing), a two-time national runner-up in Australia. 2009 UCI Downhill World Champion Steve Peat (GBR/Santa Cruz Syndicate) earned the final podium position.

In the women’s downhill race, 2008 U.S. Olympic medalist Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./Transition Racing) finished first with a final time of 4:29.7, nearly eight seconds ahead of three-time U.S. National Champion Kathy Pruitt (Aptos, Calif./Jamis Bikes). Leigh Donovan (Murrieta, Calif./Intense Cycles), the 1995 UCI Downhill World Champion, finished third.  

Complete results from Sunday’s Pro GRT events are available on USA Cycling’s Website. 

Atkinson leads the Pro GRT men’s overall standings with 205 points, 75 more than Andrew Neethling (RSA/Trek World Racing). Teammate Justin Leov (NZL/Trek World Racing) stands third at 120 points, 10 behind Neethling. On the women’s side, Kintner is first with 185 points. Her win in Truckee allowed Kintner to pass Tracy Moseley (GBR/Trek World Racing), who now stands second, 20 points behind the new leader. Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz./KHS Bicycles) is third with 110 points.  

The standings are as follows:

Men's Standings
1. Bryn Atkinson (AUS/Transition Racing)—205
2. Andrew Neethling (RSA/Trek World Racing)—130
3. Justin Leov (NZL/Trek World Racing) —120
4. Greg Minnaar (RSA/Santa Cruz Syndicate)—89
5. Luke Strobel (Issaquah, Wash./Evil Bikes)—68

Women's Standings
1. Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./Transition Racing)—185
2. Tracy Moseley (GBR/Trek World Racing)—165
3. Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz./KHS Bicycles)—110
4. Jacqueline Harmony (Sedona, Ariz./Vixen Racing)—70
5. Darian Harvey(Durango, Colo./Vixen Racing)—68


*To see the 2010 USA Cycling Pro GRT standings, please click here for the men's or here for the women's.

To see the 2010 USA Cycling Pro Mountain Bike Gravity Tour standings or leader board, please visit USA Cycling’s Pro GRT webpage. The Pro GRT will continue in Winter Park, Colo. July 29-Aug. 1 at Trestle Bike Park.   

**Report compiled by Ryan Schmitz, Communications Intern

Photos from top to bottom: The men's podium at Truckee was topped by Greg Minnaar, followed by Bryn Atkinson and Steve Peat with the silver and bronze medals. Jill Kintnertook the highest step on the women's podium while Kathy Pruitt was second and Leigh Donovan finished third.

Photos courtesy: Ryan Cleek

Back to top

This Article Published June 29, 2010 For more information contact: