Four national champs crowned as collegiate season opens in T-town

Trexlertown, Pa. (September 24, 2009) – Collegiate cycling season officially opened on Thursday as the 2009 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships got underway at the Valley Preferred Cycling Center in Trexlertown, Pa. Four individual national titles were awarded as collegiate teams began their quests for the overall team omniums which will be awarded to the top teams in each division on Saturday.

During the morning session, David Espinoza (Penn State) and Colleen Hayduk (Kutztown University) topped the power events with wins in the men’s 1000-Meter and women’s 500-Meter Time Trials.

Espinoza’s time of 1:06.54 was only 1.18 seconds off of his 2008 winning time which was set at altitude in Colorado Springs. This year, Espinoza bested silver and bronze medalists Matthew Fox (Midwestern State University) and David Williams (Marian College)

“I was hoping to go faster,” said Espinoza, explaining that he had ridden 1:06 in August at the Elite National Championships Qualifier. Espinoza said he hopes for a 1:04 next week at the USA Cycling Elite National Championships in Carson, Calif.

In the women’s 500-meter, Hayduk rode at a speed of 47.348 kilometers per hour to post a time of 38.016 and best silver and bronze medalists Mary Costelloe (Kutztown University) and Amelia Bjesse Puffin (Portland State University).

Two more national champions were crowned during opening day’s evening session. Kimberly Geist (Northeastern University) and David Williams (Marian College) won the women’s 3-Kilometer and men’s 4-Kilometer Time Trials.

Geist, the 2008 Elite National Pursuit Champion, showed elite form on Thursday. With a winning time of 3:56.344, she grabbed the top step of the podium by beating out Mary Costelloe (Kutztown University) and Jennifer Greenberg (Lees-McRae College).

Geist was cautious when race announcer John Beckman asked her to forecast a time for next week when she defends her elite national title in Carson. “I don’t know what time to expect, but it should be quite a bit faster than last year,” she said.

In the men’s 4-Kilometer time test, Williams clocked a 4:49.057 to best Joey Rosskopf (Georgia State U niversity) and Oscar Clark (Georgia State University).

The 2009 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships continue on Friday, so be sure to check back to for results!

Click here for complete results from the 2009 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships.

Click here for a schedule and more information about the event.

Interviews courtesy of Race Announcer John Beckman

USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships
September 24-26, 2009

Trexlertown, Pa.

Men’s 4-Kilometer Time Trial
1. David Williams (Marian College)
2. Joey Rosskopf (Georgia State University)
3. Oscar Clark (Georgia State University)
4. Ian Burnett (Fort Lewis College)
5. Mike Garrett (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Women’s 3-Kilometer Time Trial
1. Kimberly Geist (Northeastern University)
2. Mary Costelloe (Kutztown University)
3. Jennifer Greenberg (Lees-McRae College)
4. Jacqueline Kurth (Marian College)
5. Lauren Shirock (Pennsylvania State University)
Women’s 500-Meter Time Trial
1. Colleen Hayduk (Kutztown University)
2. Mary Costelloe (Kutztown University)
3. Amelia Bjesse Puffin (Portland State University)
4. Sierra Siebenlist (Marian College)
5. Elena Dorr (Illinois Institute)
Men’s Kilometer Time Trial
1. David Espinoza (Pennsylvania State University)
2. Matthew Fox (Midwestern State University)
3. David Williams (Marian College)
4. Garrison Schulte (Colorado State University)
5. Adam Leibovitz (Marian College)

This Article Published September 24, 2009 For more information contact: