USA Cycling announces elite women's team for Road Worlds

Colorado Springs, Colo. (September 8, 2009) – USA Cycling announced today the elite women that will represent the United States at the 2009 UCI Road World Championships, Sept. 23-27 in Mendriso, Switzerland.

Leading the women’s team for 2009 will be defending time trial world champion, Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif.), and Olympic gold medalist and three-time time trial world championship medalist (2005-2007), Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho). Both women received automatic nominations to race the time trial and the road race based on their top-25 UCI rankings.

The pair will be joined in the time trial by Jessica Phillips (Aspen, Colo./Team Lip Smackers), who received an automatic nomination to race the clock with her win in the USA Cycling Elite Time Trial National Championship earlier this summer.

Neben and Armstrong will be complemented on the road race squad by four additional teammates. Kimberly Anderson (Santa Barbara, Calif./Columbia-High Road) received an automatic nomination by means of her overall win this summer in the UCI 2.1 La Route de France while Meredith Miller (Fort Collins, Colo./Team TIBCO) automatically qualified with her win in the elite women’s road race at the USA Cycling Road National Championships. The six-woman road race squad will be rounded out by two discretionary nominees – Evelyn Stevens (New York, N.Y.) and Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo./Columbia HTC). Stevens won a stage of La Route de France this summer and finished right behind Anderson in second overall while Abbott rode to second-place overall in the UCI 2.1 Giro Donne.

USA Cycling will announce the elite and U23 men’s teams for the world championships on September 14.

2009 UCI Road World Championships

Mendriso, Switzerland
September 23-27, 2009

Elite Women
Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho/Cervelo-Lifeforce) – Time Trial and Road Race *
Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif./ Equipe Nürnberger) – Time Trial and Road Race *
Kimberly Anderson (Santa Barbara, Calif./Columbia-High Road) – Road Race *
Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo./Columbia HTC) – Road Race
Meredith Miller (Fort Collins, Colo./Team TIBCO) – Road Race *
Evelyn Stevens (New York, N.Y.) – Road Race
Jessica Phillips (Aspen, Colo./Team Lip Smackers) – Time Trial*

*denotes automatic qualifiers.

About USA Cycling  
Recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States, including road, track, mountain bike, BMX, and cyclo-cross. As a membership-based organization, USA Cycling consists of 64,000+ licensees including 1,500 coaches, 4,000 student-athletes, 2,200 officials, 1,800 clubs and teams, 350 professional cyclists, 200 certified mechanics, and 34 local associations. The national governing body sanctions 2,500 competitive and non-competitive events throughout the U.S. each year and is responsible for the identification, development, and support of American cyclists through various initiatives and programs. Additionally, USA Cycling conducts national championship events for all categories of amateur and professional cycling. To learn more about USA Cycling, visit

This Article Published September 8, 2009 For more information contact: