Murphy, Pic and England win pro and elite criterium crowns

Downers Grove, Ill. (Aug. 16, 2009) - USA Cycling awarded three national titles on a rainy Sunday in suburban Chicago as the nation’s top sprinters gathered to compete for stars-and-stripes jerseys in three criterium categories. In the USA Cycling Professional Criterium Championships – the fourth stop on the season-long USA Cycling Professional Tour – former USA Cycling National Development Team program participant, John Murphy (Asheville, N.C./OUCH-Maxxis) captured his first career pro criterium title with a second-place effort behind Ben Kersten of Australia.  
In the USA Cycling Elite Criterium Championships, Tina Pic (Buford, Ga./Colavita-Sutter Home-Cooking Light) sprinted to her sixth career title in the women’s race, while Justin England (Boulder, Colo./California Giant Berry Farms) earned a victory in the elite men’s contest.
Murphy placed second overall on Sunday but was the first American across the line to secure the title ahead of BMC’s Tony Cruz (Long Beach, Calif.) who sprinted to third.
After winning four straight titles from 2002 to 2005 and again in 2007, Pic regained the national champion’s jersey from the 2008 winner and this year’s second-place finisher Brooke Miller (Pescedero, Calif./Team TIBCO). Shelley Olds (Scotts Valley, Calif./Proman), Jennifer McRae (Austin, Texas/Team Type I) and Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Cedar Springs, Mich./Verducci-Breakaway) rounded out the top five in the field sprint.
In the elite men’s race, Justin England (Boulder, Colo./Cal Giant Berry Farms) won the field sprint ahead of Paul Martin (N.Royalton, Ohio/Panther-RCF Cycling) and Michael Margariet (New York, N.Y./CRCA-Empire Cycling Team).
2009 USA Cycling Elite and Professional Criterium National Championships
Downers Grove, Ill.
Aug. 16
Professional Men
1. Ben Kersten (AUS/Fly-V Australia)
2. John Murphy (Asheville, N.C./Ouch-Maxxis)*
3. Antonio Cruz (Long Beach, Calif.)
4. Jake Keough (Sandwich, Mass./Kelly Benefit Strategies)
5. Adam Myerson (Dorchester, Mass./Mountain Khakis)
*USA Cycling Professional National Champion
Elite Women
1. Tina Pic (Dahlonega, Ga.)
2. Brooke Miller (Pescadero, Calif./Team TIBCO)
3. Shelley Olds (Scotts Valley, Calif./Proman Hit Squad)
4. Jen McRae (Austin, Texas/ Team Type I)
5. Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Cedar Springs, Mich./Verducci-Breakaway)
Elite Men
1. Justin England (Boulder, Colo./Cal Giant Berry Farms)
2. Paul Martin (N.Royalton, Ohio/Panther-RCF Cycling)
3. Michael Margariet (New York, N.Y./CRCA-Empire Cycling Team)
4. Zach Watson (Louisville, Colo./ABC Cycling Team)
5. Steve Reaney (San Jose, Calif./Cal Giant Berry Farms)


This Article Published August 16, 2009 For more information contact: