Election results are in after record number of votes cast in 2008

Colorado Springs, Colo. (August 18, 2008)—The 2008 USA Cycling elections concluded on Aug. 15 and after record voter turnout USA Cycling members elected several representatives to their respective Boards of Trustees which comprise the political structure of USA Cycling. The 2008 election saw a record number of 3,852 votes cast.
Below is a summary of each board’s election:
For the athlete representative, Donny Robinson ran unopposed and was elected to his first term on the BMXA Board of Trustees. As a result, Robinson automatically receives a seat on the USA Cycling Board of Directors. 
In the At-Large position, incumbent Clayton John was elected over Pete Dylewski, 29 votes to 20.
For the athlete representative, Emma Bast was elected to her first term to the NCCA Board of Trustees. Bast received 21 votes over Jason Sears’ 15. 
For the two At-Large positions, incumbent Mark Abramson and newcomer Anne Spalding were both elected with 116 and 92 votes respectively.
For the athlete representatives, three candidates ran for three available seats. Incumbent Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski was re-elected with 10 votes to both the NORBA Board of Trustees and the USA Cycling Board of Directors. Neven Steinmetz and Chris Van Dine received 3 votes and 1 vote respectively to fill seats on the NORBA Board of Trustees.
For the Official representative, incumbent Kinnin Payson garnered 294 votes and was elected over Dorothy Nichols, who received 251 votes.
Jamie Bogner ran unopposed and was elected to the Land Access Trustee seat.
For the athlete representatives, three candidates ran for three positions. Anton Quist received the most votes (19) and was therefore elected to both the USCF Board of Trustees and the USA Cycling Board of Directors. Also elected to the USCF Board of Trustees were incumbent Michael Blatchford (Cypress, Calif.) and newcomer Kendra Wenzel.
In the Eastern Section race, newcomer Diane Fortini received 562 votes to win the seat over Tracy Lea, Mike Norton and Debra Schiff. Lea garnered 309 votes while Norton collected 183 and Schiff 110.
In the Central Section race, Gordon Paulson received 204 votes and was elected over David LaPorte (183), Frank Mackzum (157), Thomas Doughty (84) and James Dawson (83).
In the Western Section race, incumbent Jim Allen defeated newcomer Richard Feldman by the narrowest margin in history, 218 votes to 216.

For the At-Large seat, incumbent Ed Beamon received 49 votes to defeat first-time candidate Michael Ball (40).
For the Trade Team trustee, Ken Mills was elected with six votes over Jonathan Vaughters (5).
In the U.S. Olympic Committee Athlete Advisory Council election, incumbent Anton Quist ran unopposed and will continue to serve in that capacity for another 4 years. Since there was no other challenger, Amanda Geving also retained her position as an alternate.

This Article Published August 20, 2008 For more information contact: