Collegiate Road Nationals begin with Team Time Trial competition

Fort Collins, Colo. (May 9, 2008) – The USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships started up with the team time trial competition in northern Colorado on Friday.  With traditional powerhouses shining in Division I and some impressive underdog performances in the Division II Time Trial, the University of California – Davis and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology took the early lead in the overall team standings.
After Lees-McRae College took an early commanding lead, the men’s University of California – Davis squad of Tyler Dibble, Paul Mach, Philip Mooney and Shawn Rosenthal posted the day’s best time of 23:18.490 to win the DI crown despite a late race head wind into the finish. Last year’s team time trial runner-up, University of Colorado – Boulder, once again scored a near miss, only nine second’s behind the Aggies of Davis. Lees-McRae’s time of 24:00.980 held up to earn third place.
“With four freshmen in the contest, we’re very pleased with our result,” said Lees-McRae Head Coach Doug Owen. “Brian (Sheedy), our assistant coach, got them together as a team and had them mentally prepared.”
Earlier in the day the DI women got things started off with Stanford University’s Arwen Bradley, Audrey Brown, Rae Brownsberger and Katy Keenan posting the winning time of 27:46.720 on the same 20-kilometer out and back course. The Cardinals bested last year’s TTT winner, Colorado’s Fort Lewis College who rode into second place with a time of 28:08.460 over the Wildcats of the University of Arizona.
The UC-Davis women pulled off a fourth-place finish which, when combined with the men’s win, gave the team an early 19-point lead in the overall standings. Fort Lewis (139) and Stanford (132) sit in second and third place leading into Saturday’s road race and Sunday’s criterium.    
Late arrivals to the start by several DII squads left the competition wide open and Greenville, South Carolina’s Furman University took full advantage, earning an impressive time of 24:08.320. Spencer Beamer, Todd McClure, Chris Butler and Craig McKinney teamed up to post the fifth best time of the day and take the DII crown for the Paladins. After going off first in the start order, the Colorado School of Mines’ 24:35.830 ride held up for second place while the University of Denver finished third.
The Massachusetts Institute of Technology team of Martha Buckley, Sonya Cates, Yuri Matsumoto and Zuzana Trnovcova took the win in the women’s DII race against the clock over last year’s runner-up, Western Washington University. Dartmouth College finished third with a time of 30:45.890.
The MIT men’s squad’s fourth-place finish, combined with the women’s victory, allowed the Engineers to move into the top spot overall in DII. The Colorado School of Mines (139) is currently in second place while last year’s overall champion, Western Washington University (132), occupies the third spot.
With 18 total national titles up for grabs throughout the weekend, none are more important than the two overall team titles that will be determined on Sunday. Points scored by the men’s and women’s squads in each division will result in an overall Division I and Division II champion. Stanford University is the defending Division I champion, while Western Washington University captured the Division II crown in 2007 in Lawrence, Kansas.
On Saturday the first individual national champions will be crowned in the road race competition. The DI and DII women will race 50 miles and the DI and DII men 70 miles with all four divisions will starting and finishing at Colorado State University’s Hughes Stadium.
For detailed schedule, route and contact information, visit the event’s web page, here.    

To view photos from the event, click here.
2008 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships
May 9-11
Fort Collins, Colo.
For complete results, click here.
Division I Men’s Team Time Trial
1. University of California – Davis 23:18.490
2. University of Colorado - Boulder 23:27.880
3. Lees-McRae College 24:00.980
4. Colorado State University 24:06.560
5. Fort Lewis College 24:15.920
Division I Women’s Team Time Trial
1. Stanford University 27:46.720
2. Fort Lewis College 28:08.460
3. University of Arizona 28:41.880
4. University of California – Davis 28:48.280
5. Lees-McRae College 29:18.470
Division II Men’s Team Time Trial
1. Furman University 24:08.320
2. Colorado School of Mines 24:35.830
3. University of Denver 25:07.090
4. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 25:09.600
5. United States Air Force Academy 25:16.860
Division II Women’s Team Time Trial
1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 29:50.810
2. Western Washington University 29:58.600
3. Dartmouth College 30:45.890
4. Whitman College 30:46.770
5. Colorado School of Mines 31:08.980
Division I Overall Standings
1. University of California – Davis 158
2. Fort Lewis College 139
3. Stanford University 132
4. Lees-McRae College 129
5. University of Colorado – Boulder 121
Division II Overall Standings
1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 158
2. Colorado School of Mines 139
3. Western Washington University 132
4. University of Denver 116
5. Dartmouth College 111
About USA Cycling   
Recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States, including road, track, mountain bike, BMX and cyclo-cross. As a membership-based organization and sanctioning body, USA Cycling consists of 64,000+ members, including 57,000 competitive cyclists, 1,500 coaches, 4,000 student-athletes, 2,200 officials, 350 professional cyclists, and 200 certified mechanics. USA Cycling also sanctions 2,500 competitive and non-competitive organized cycling events throughout the United States annually, as well as 1,800 clubs and teams. Associations of USA Cycling include the United States Cycling Federation (road, track & cyclo-cross), the National Off-Road Bicycle Association (mountain bike), the BMX Association, the National Collegiate Cycling Association and the United States Professional Racing Organization. USA Cycling is also responsible for the identification, development, support and promotion of American cyclists through various athletic initiatives and programs including the USA Cycling National Development Team, the USA Cycling Women’s National Team, the USA Cycling Junior Development Team, Talent Identification and Regional Development Camps, domestic and international race calendars, direct athlete funding and support programs, and educational camps and seminars. USA Cycling also fields and supports U.S. National Teams for various international events, including the Olympic Games, World Championships, Pan American Games, Continental Championship and World Cups across all levels and disciplines of competitive cycling. USA cycling further supports grass roots and locally-based initiatives through its 32 Local Associations and comprehensive network of licensed and certified coaches and officials. Additionally, USA Cycling conducts National Championship events for amateur and professional cyclists, awarding more than 600 national titles annually to men and women in junior, U23, masters, elite, professional and paralympic categories throughout the various disciplines of competitive cycling. To learn more about USA Cycling, visit For media-related or general inquiries, please contact USA Cycling Director of Communications, Andy Lee at 719-866-4867 or   

This Article Published May 9, 2008 For more information contact: