Bookwalter takes U23 Time Trial crown

Brent Bookwalter captured the Under-23 men's time trial in pouring rain (photo: Beth Seliga)
Champion, Pa. (July 12, 2006)Brent Bookwalter (Comstock Park, Mich. / Priority Health) picked up his fourth national championship of the year when he took the men’s Under-23 time trial title Wednesday at the USA Cycling National Festival at Seven Springs.

Despite heavy rain, wind and foggy conditions at Laurel Hill State Park, Bookwalter posted the fastest time of the entire national championships on the hilly 30-kilometer course when he rolled across the finish line in 42 minutes and 41.41 seconds.

“After the road racing and getting so close, I was super motivated,” Bookwalter said. “Starting before the time trial last year I thought I can give a good run; I went last year with no expectations and came in second to Steven Cozza who had a great ride, and the only thing to do this year was get the win…all I was thinking about was going as fast as I could. When it starts to rain you get thoughts in your head, but I dismissed those instantly - You’re still suffering as bad or worse.”

Bookwalter started 30 seconds before last year’s national champion Cozza (TIAA-CREF / Petaluma, Calif.) and ended up passing him in the closing meters. Other than easing the corners and, as Bookwalter said, “squinting a little more,” Bookwalter noted the climbing of the course suited him well and he changed little for riding in the extreme conditions.

Cozza finished second in 45:54.34 and Zak Grabowski (Lafayette, Colo. / Colavita Olive Oil) finished third at 44:13.08 in the field of 56 riders.

In the master men’s 30-35 category, Joshua Frick (Rockville, Md. / DC Velo/Martens Volvo) finished first in 43:44. Just a week ago, Frick placed second in the men’s elite time trial in 44:27 on the same course and would have won the category with the time he posted Wednesday.

“I passed six, seven or eight guys out there and I was the last one to go. I don’t want to be pouty, but it almost makes getting second last week a little worse, but it’s always good to win a national championship,” Frick said. Riders started in 30-second intervals of each other, but with a lighter bike and lessons learned from his prior ride, he was able to easily past his competition, even in the rainy conditions.  

“This isn’t a rhythm course,” Frick said. “You have to ration your energy. I coasted more than probably anyone will today. I just tucked and locked my knees to the top tube and coasted.”

Paul Martin (North Royalton, Ohio / Texas Roadhouse) finished second and Eric Bean (Durham, N.C.) finished in third. Masters men age 55 and over and women 45 and over rode 21 kilometers with the rest of the categories riding 30 kilometers. Paralympic riders rode 6 or 17 kilometers, depending on their classification. To read more about the Paralympic competition, click here.

More than 1,200 athletes competed in 30 categories Wednesday.Other category winners include:

Richard Feldman (Master Men 35-39)
Andy Applegate (Master Men 40-44)
Thurlow Rogers (Master Men 45-49)
David Zimbleman (Master Men 50-54)
Gordon Paulson (Master Men 55-59)
John Elgart (Master Men 60-64)
William Meyers (Master Men 65-69)
Pete Murphy (Master Men 70-74)
Paul Tetrick (Master Men 75-79)
Francis Underwood (Master Men 80-84)

Betsy Galenti (Master Women 30-34)
Laura Igoe (Master Women 35-39)
Lori Jug (Master Women 40-44)
Ruth Clemence (Master Women 45-49)
Elizabeth Tyrell (Master Women 50-54)
Kay Tsui (Master Women 55-59)
Patty Puz (Master Women 65-69)
Joyce Quadri (Master Women 70+)

Louie Amelburu / Mark Schaefer (Master Men 70+ Tandem)
Martha Walsh / Martin Criminale (Master 70+ Mixed Tandem)
Scott Baker / John Simonson (Master Men 90+ Tandem)
Tamara Lewis / Nick Suozzo (Master 90+ Mixed Tandem)
Bernard Sanders / Ronald Sutherland (Master Men 110+ Tandem)
Tyrell / Stamm (Master Mixed 110+ Tandem)
Adkins / Lockwood (Elite Tandem Women)
Arnal / Totaro (Elite Tandem Men)
McCauley / Wright (Elite Mixed Tandem)

Karissa Whitsell (Paralympic Women)
Alejandro Albor (Paralympic Men)

The USA Cycling National Festival at Seven Springs continues Thursday with the U-23 and masters’ criteriums at Jennerstown Speedway. For complete results from the festival, click here.

This Article Published July 12, 2006 For more information contact: