Marian Dominates on Day 1 of Collegiate Road Nationals


The team from Marian University rides in the men's team time trial
The team from Marian University rides to victory in the men's team time trial (photo by Casey B. Gibson)
Grand Junction, Colo. (April 28, 2017) – Team and individual time trials highlighted the second day of the USA Cycling Collegiate & Para-Cycling Road National Championships on Friday in Grand Junction. Four collegiate team titles and eight individual (four collegiate, four para) titles were contested on the 25- and 32-kilometer out-and-back courses starting and finishing in Glade Park. Marian University was the big winner of the day, garnering three gold medals including both team time trials.
Men’s Team Time Trials

The University of Colorado Boulder posted a 42:09.34 to take the win for the men’s club ahead of Colorado State University and the University of Wisconsin Madison. In the varsity contest, Marian University clocked the winning time of 42:42.39 ahead of Colorado Mesa University and Fort Lewis College.
Women’s Team Time Trials

The team from Stanford University rides in the women's team time trial
The team from Stanford University rides in the women's team time trial (photo by Casey B. Gibson)
Stanford University earned gold in the women’s club event when its squad posted a 51:50.71 to beat out the silver and bronze medalist teams from MIT and the University of Colorado Boulder. Marian University dominated the team time trial in the women’s varsity competition with a time of 49:46.30. Colorado Mesa University and Lindenwood University were second and third, respectively.
Men’s Individual Time Trials 
George Simpson (Colorado State University) blistered the course with a time of 32:22.96 to take the club title, besting runner-up Sam Fritz (University of Minnesota-Duluth) by 1:23.95. Reigning champion Glenn Ferreira (University of Delaware) collected the bronze.
In the varsity race against the clock, Zachary Nehr (Marian University) was fastest in a time of 35:16.84. Wilman Vargas (Savannah College of Art & Design) and his teammate Clayton Stone (Savannah College of Art & Design) were second and third.
Women’s Individual Time Trials
Heidi Franz (Seattle University) clocked the fastest time in the women’s club individual time trial with a 39:38.09 to win the gold medal ahead of Erica Clevenger (University of Arizona) and Danielle Morshead (Brown University).
The varsity women’s event was won by last year’s runner-up, Janelle Cole (Brevard College) in a time of 41:35.92. She beat out teammate Hannah Arensman (Brevard College) and Mackenzie Myatt (Savannah College of Art & Design).

Para-Cycling Individual Time Trials

David Randall (Mansfield, Ohio/Team Roger C Peace) won the most contested para-cycling division on Thursday by defeating 13 other riders to take the title in the men’s H3 class. He posted a winning time of 37:38.34 to finish ahead of runner-up Craig Cornwall (Boise, Idaho/Paralyzed Veterans of America Racing) and third-place-finisher Matthew Updike (Denver, Colo.).
Elsewhere, Rio Paralympic silver medalists Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt.) and Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y./Peace Cycling Performance) took the wins in the women’s H3 and T2 divisions, respectively.

Full Day One Para-Cycling Time Trial Results

Competition continues on Saturday with the road races and concludes on Sunday with the criteriums. For live updates from Collegiate & Para-Cycling Nationals, follow #collnats and @USACCollegiate on Twitter. You can also see the links below for more information.
Photo Gallery
Omnium Standings

This Article Updated April 29, 2017 @ 06:21 PM For more information contact: