Hammer leads at omnium midpoint


(March 5, 2016) – Sarah Hammer (Colorado Springs, Colo.) stands tied for the women’s omnium lead after three events Saturday at the 2016 UCI Track World Championships.
Hammer won the women's omnium individual pursuit by nearly four seconds.
Hammer won the women's omnium individual pursuit and elimination race to earn a share of the standings lead. (photo by Casey B. Gibson)

Hammer opened the day with a fifth-place effort in the scratch race, followed by a 3:28.630 win in the individual pursuit, a run that set a new track record. Hammer closed things out on Saturday with the elimination race win, outsprinting Laura Trott (GBR) in the final 250m to take the win. Hammer stands tied with Trott with 112 points with Sunday’s time trial, flying lap and points race ahead.
Kim Geist (Emmaus, Pa./Chester County Cycling Foundation-Team Alliance Environmental) took seventh in the women’s points race, accumulating six points after winning the final sprint by half a lap. Katarzyna Pawlowska (POL) earned the win with 15 points, followed by Jasmin Glaesser (CAN) and Arlenis Sierra Canadilla (CUB) with 14 points each.
Jake Duehring (Irvine, Calif./GS Ciao) closed out men’s omnium competition with 27 points to finish 20th overall. The California native finished 18th in Saturday’s time trial and 17th in the flying lap before collecting five in the points race. Each with 191 points, Fernando Gaviria Rendon (COL) earned gold, Roger Kluge (GER) claimed silver and Glenn O’Shea (AUS) picked up bronze.
The 2016 UCI Track World Championships conclude Sunday with the completion of the women’s omnium, where Hammer will ride for her ninth career Rainbow Jersey, while Matt Baranoski (Perkasie, Pa./Custom Velo) will clip in for the men’s keirin. Visit Tissot Timing for live timing and schedules. The afternoon session will also be streamed live on NBC Sports Live Extra. Coverage begins at 8:30 a.m. EST.
2016 UCI Track World Championships
London, England
March 2-6, 2016
Women’s Omnium (Scratch Race, Individual Pursuit, Elimination Race)
1. Sarah Hammer (Colorado Springs, Colo.) – 112 points
2. Laura Trott (GBR) – 112 points
3. Amalie Dideriksen (DEN) – 106 points
Women’s Points Race
1. Katarzyna Pawlowska (POL) – 15 points
2. Jasmin Glaesser (CAN) – 14 points
3. Arlenis Sierra Canadilla (CUB) – 14 points
7. Kim Geist (Emmaus, Pa./Chester County Cycling Foundation-Team Alliance Environmental) – 6 points
Men’s Omnium
1. Fernando Gaviria Rendon (COL) – 191 points
2. Roger Kluge (GER) – 191 points
3. Glenn O’Shea (AUS) – 191 points
20. Jake Duehring (Irvine, Calif./GS Ciao) – 27 points

Related Articles

This Article Updated March 6, 2016 @ 08:45 PM For more information contact: