Fifteen to represent U.S. at BMX World Championships


Colorado Springs, Colo. (April 27, 2012) – USA Cycling is pleased to announce the roster of 15 athletes it will send to the UCI BMX World Championships, May 23-27 in Birmingham, U.K. The competition will feature the world’s best BMX athletes in the final major, international competition before this summer’s Olympic Games.
The event will count toward the 2011-2012 UCI BMX Nations Rankings, which as of May 28, 2012 will determine each nation’s number of start spots for the 2012 Olympic Games set for August 9-10 in London. The United States currently sits in  second place in both the men’s and women’s overall nations rankings, putting it in current position to send a full contingent of BMX athletes to the Games with three men and two women.
Six riders will make up the USA Cycling men’s funded team with the top Americans in the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup rankings receiving automatic nominations. After winning the last three consecutive world cup events, reigning national champion Connor Fields (Henderson, N.V./Chase BMX) will headline the powerful U.S. team in Birmingham. One of the nation’s  most consistent riders, David Herman (Wheat Ridge, Colo./Free Agent-Rockstar) will join Fields as an automatic nominee, ranked number three in the world cup standings. Beijing Olympic silver medalist Mike Day (San Diego, Calif./GT Bicycles), who sits just outside the top 10 of the overall world cup rankings, is a discretionary nominee. After earning the bronze at last summer’s BMX Olympic Test Event Nic Long (Lakeside, Calif./Haro Bikes) will join the funded team also as a discretionary nominee, along with Barry Nobles (Menifee, Calif./DK Bicycles), who is coming off a strong performance at the Chula Vista World Cups, and Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz./GT Bicycles) who won a world cup last season.
Five talented ladies will make up the women’s funded team with the top three in the UCI Supercross BMX World Cup rankings earning automatic nominations. Currently ranked fourth, fifth and sixth respectively, USA Cycling BMX National Champion and Randaberg World Cup bronze medalist Alise Post (Saint Cloud, Minn./Redline), 2011 Chula Vista World Cup winner Arielle Martin (Spanaway, Wash./Intense BMX), and 2011 BMX World Championship junior bronze medalist Brooke Crain (Visalia, Calif./Haro Bikes) will fill the automatic spots. Currently ranked seventh and eighth in the world cup standings, Amanda Geving (Largo, Fla./MCS Bicycles) and Amanda Carr (Punta Gorda, Fla./Endeavor-Paul Williams) will join the squad as discretionary nominees.
Bios for all of these Olympic hopeful athletes can be found online at
Four athletes will also represent the U.S. in the junior portion of the competition in Birmingham. Selected as discretionary nominees, Nicholas Koehler (Tustin, Calif.) and Lain Van Ogle (Auburn, Wash./Hyper) will contest the men’s portion of the event, while Danielle George (Palmdale, Calif./Supercross) and Felicia Stancil (Lake Villa, Ill./GT Bicycles) will take to the supercross track for the junior women.   
The UCI BMX World Championships & Challenge are open only to qualified championship and challenge class riders. Competitors must hold a USA Cycling BMX international license and can find out more about qualification and registration on USA Cycling’s 2012 UCI BMX World Championships webpage.
Find out more information on the world championship event on the UCI BMX World Championships webpage. 

2012 UCI BMX Supercross World Championships
Birmingham, U.K. – May 23-27
 USA Cycling Funded Team:
Elite Men
Connor Fields (Henderson, Nev./Chase BMX)
David Herman (Wheat Ridge, Colo./Free Agent-Rockstar)
Mike Day (San Diego, Calif./GT Bicycles)
Nic Long (Lakeside, Calif./Haro Bikes)
Barry Nobles (Menifee, Calif./DK Bicycles)
Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz./GT Bicycles)
Elite Women
Alise Post (Saint Cloud, Minn./Redline)
Arielle Martin (Spanaway, Wash./Intense BMX)
Brooke Crain (Visalia, Calif./Haro BMX)
Amanda Geving (Largo, Fla./MCS Bicycles)
Amanda Carr (Punta Gorda, Fla./Endeavor-Paul Williams)
Junior Men
Nicholas Koehler (Tustin, Calif.)
Lain Van Ogle (Auburn, Wash./Hyper)
Junior Women
Danielle George (Palmdale, Calif./Supercross)
Felicia Stancil (Lake Villa, Ill./GT Bicycles)

This Article Updated April 27, 2012 @ 03:48 PM For more information contact: