Congratulations to USA Cycling's 2011 Officials of the Year!


Steve Stone was named National Official of the Year.
Steve Stone was named National Official of the Year.
USA Cycling is pleased to announce its 2011 Officials of the Year.  The national governing body named one overall “National Official of the Year,” one “National Motoref of the Year,” five “Regional Officials of the Year,” and 27 “Local Officials of the Year.”
The honored officials were chosen by the USA Cycling Technical Commission based on their demonstrated excellence in technical skills, management and teamwork, and service to their respective local associations and promoters. 
Taking the top honor as “National Official of the Year” was Steve Stone (Fredericksburg, Va.). Stone started off the year as Chief Referee for the Wilmington Grand Prix. He was then a commissaire at the Liberty Classic, Chief Referee of both the Presbyterian Hospital criterium and the Masters Worlds Qualifiers in Colorado, and then a motoref at the inaugural USA Pro Cycling Challenge. He finished the season as a commissaire at the Univest Grand Prix.
“A versatile and well-respected official, Steve is equally adept at moto work or being a referee,” said USA Cycling’s Technical Director, Shawn Farrell. “He has been one of the most sought after officials by organizers across the country. He is calm and collected under the most trying of circumstances and he represents the essence of professionalism.”
Each year, USA Cycling also honors the two-wheeled road warriors that keep the races safe out on the road. This year, Jim Allen (Ranchita, CA) earned this top honor. Jim has been instrumental as both a motoref at the biggest races in the country and as an instructor. He has been in the biggest international races and national championships for over two decades of service.
Jim Allen was named Motoref of the Year
Jim Allen was named Motoref of the Year
Additionally, USA Cycling honored officials in each of its five regions who worked locally, regionally, and nationally to demonstrate excellence in their fields. Congratulations to the following “Regional Officials of the Year.”

Kristen Mills (Brookfield, Mass.) - East Region Official of the Year
Lynn Taylor (Fort Collins, Colo.) - Mountain Region Official of the Year
Mark Guthart (Iowa City, Iowa) - Midwest Region Official of the Year
Bill Wykoff (Clarkston, Wash.) - West Region Official of the Year
John Patterson (Alpharetta, Ga.)– Southeast Official of the Year
In addition to the recognition bestowed by USA Cycling, the Local Associations have also named Local “Officials of the Year.” Congratulations to the following Local Officials of the Year:

Alan Atwood (Holbrook, NY) -  New York State Bicycle Racing Association
Mike Busch – Minnesota Cycling Federation
Al Cronin (Arlington, Wash.) - Washington State Bicycle Association
Bill Dolan  (Atl Highlands, NJ) - New England Bicycle Racing Association
Tim Eisenhart (Lehi, Utah) - Utah Cycling Association
Nancy Ellis (Tucson, Ariz.) - Arizona Bicycle Racing Association
Adrian Fear (Commerce, Mich.) - Michigan Bicycle Racing Association
Shawn Garls (Fayetteville, Ark.) - Arkansas Bicycle Coalition
Ron Garrett (Xenia, Ohio) - Ohio Cycling Association
Ixsa Gollihur (Sicklerville, NJ) - New Jersey Bicycling Association
Mark Guthart (Iowa City, Iowa) - Iowa Bicycle Racing Association
Sherri Hahn (St. Joseph, Mo.) - Kansas Cycling Association
Cor Kikstra (Chesapeake, Va.) - Virginia Cycling Association
Loch Miwa (Crestwood, Ill.) - Illinois Cycling Association
Bruce Neal (Colorado Springs, Colo.) - Bicycle Racing Association of Colorado
Mark Nelson (Dallas, Texas) - Texas Bicycle Racing Association
James Nichols (Carmel, Ind.) - Indiana Kentucky Cycling Association
Leah Padaca (Boise, Idaho) - Southwest Idaho Cycling Association
Larry Pirtle (Saint Louis, Mo.) - Missouri Bicycle Racing Association
Don Russell (Montana) - Montana Bicycle Racing Association
Judy Ryne – Carolinas Cycling Association
Dean Shafer (Bixby, Okla.) - Bicycle Racing Association of Oklahoma
Tom Simonson (Silverdale, Wash.) - Northern California/Nevada Cycling Association
Pamala Thullen (Albuquerque, NM) - New Mexico Bike Racing Association
Debbie Wagner (Alburtis, Pa.) - Pennsylvania Cycling Association
Darrell Webb (Bellevue, Neb.) - Nebraska Cycling Association
Rich Weiss (Twin Lakes, Wis.) - Wisconsin Cycling Association
Barbara Whitelaw - Mid Atlantic Bicycle Racing Association
Special thanks to all USA Cycling officials for helping to make 2011 a great season!

This Article Published December 19, 2011 For more information contact: