Compton battles to fifth at Cross Worlds; Trebon 18th


Two-time world championship medalist Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Rabobank-Giant) surged to take fifth place in the elite women’s contest at the 2012 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Koksijde, Belgium on Sunday. Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore./LTS-Felt) powered through the sand dunes of coastal Belgium to finish 18th as the Belgians recorded a record top-seven sweep.
Compton battles back from a rough start, closing ground on the leaders.
Compton battles back from a rough start, closing ground on the leaders.
Elite Women

After a rough start that saw Compton off her bike, the eight-time USA Cycling National Champion remained determined, posting the race’s fastest lap times the second and third times around the sand dunes of Koksijde to fight her way back into medal contention.
With one lap remaining Compton had clawed back into the lead chase group, just behind the leader, four-time world champion Marianne Vos (NED). Hometown favorite Sanne Cant (BEL) was not keen to let the American strongwoman catch on however and pushed the pace with Daphny Van den Brand (NED) hanging on her wheel. Compton’s strong efforts to close the ground showed as she lost contact with the group. The tenacious American wasn’t done however, again closing the gap until the bottom of the final run-up where a small bobble gave the medal winners just enough time to escape.
In front of an estimated crowd of more than 60,000, Vos rode away with her fourth consecutive cyclo-cross world title with her Dutch countrywoman Van den Brand and Belgium’s Cant just over half a minute behind. Compton charged in 15 seconds later for fifth.
Both Nicole Duke (Boulder, Colo./Cyclocrossworld-Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) and Meredith Miller (Boulder, Colo./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) put together strong, top 20 rides for the U.S. team; finishing under four minutes back of the winner, Vos. Young Americans Amy Dombroski (Boulder, Colo./Crankbrothers Race Club) and Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wisc./Cyclocrossworld-Cannondale Cyclocrossworld), who’ve seen success on the World Cup circuit this year continue their progression finishing 23rd and 26th respectively.
Elite Men
Much to the delight of the crowd, the Belgians swept the first seven spots in the elite men’s event. The sandy, rolling course proved difficult for the six-man American contingent. Strongman Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore./LTS-Felt) however powered through the dunes and into 18th place; 4:02 back of the new world champion Niels Albert (BEL).  
Trebon used his long strides to get a leg up on the competition on the running-heavy course.
Trebon used his long strides to get a leg up on the competition on the running-heavy course.
“This is a pretty unique venue and riding style and our riders just don’t see much of it,” said USA Cycling Cyclo-cross Programs Director Marc Gullickson. “Only 20 riders finished on the lead lap which really says a lot about the difficulty and unique style of the course.”
Trebon had a clean start in mid-20s and used his tall, long stride to move inside the top 20 on the running-heavy course. 2012 USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Champion Jeremy Powers (Easthampton, Mass./Team Rapha-Focus) battled through the 10-lap race into 26th place. Tim Johnson (Topsfield, Mass./ Cannondale p/b who came into the event 17th in the world rankings fought to a 34th place finish. Jamey Driscoll (Winooski, Vt./Cannondale p/b, who got caught up in an early-race crash finished 42nd and Christopher Jones (Auburn, Calif./Team Rapha-Focus) rounded out the American contingent in 43rd .   
Watch TV Re-Broadcast Next Weekend
Viewers can catch a re-broadcast of the elite women’s race on the Universal Sports Network on Feb. 4 at 4 p.m. ET and the elite men’s event on Feb. 5 at 4 p.m. ET.
2012 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships
Koksijde, Belgium
January 28-29, 2012
Elite Men
1. Niels Albert (BEL) 1:06:07
2. Rob Peeters (BEL) +00:24
3. Kevin Pauwels (BEL) +00:30
18. Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore./LTS-Felt) +4:02
26. Jeremy Powers (Easthampton, Mass./Team Rapha-Focus) -2 laps
34. Tim Johnson (Topsfield, Mass./ Cannondale p/b -3 laps
42. Jamey Driscoll (Winooski, Vt./Cannondale p/b -3 laps
43. Christopher Jones (Auburn, Calif./Team Rapha-Focus) -5 laps
DNF Jonathan Page (Northfield, N.H./Planet Bike)
Elite Women
1. Marianne Vos (NED) 0:41:04
2. Daphny Van den Brand (NED) +00:37
3. Sanne Cant (BEL) +00:38
5. Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Rabobank-Giant) +00:53
19. Nicole Duke (Boulder, Colo./Cyclocrossworld-Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) +3:40
20. Meredith Miller (Boulder, Colo./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) +3:54
23. Amy Dombroski (Boulder, Colo./Crankbrothers Race Club) +5:21
26. Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wisc./Cyclocrossworld-Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) +5:41

Related Articles

This Article Published January 29, 2012 For more information contact:
Sierra NevadaUSACDFOSMOEndurance ConspiracyShimanoBonk BreakerCUORE
UCI USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States. The 501c3, membership-based organization aims both to achieve sustained success in international cycling competition and to grow competitive cycling in America while delivering an exceptional customer experience.
View Children's Online Privacy Protection Policy
US Olympic Committee