Collegiate rivalries renewed this weekend in Richmond


Colorado Springs, Colo. (April 30, 2014) -- The thrill and rivalry of collegiate cycling will be on display May 2-4 as Richmond, Va., plays host to the 2014 CapTech USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships.

Over 400 collegiate athletes from 46 different states will be representing 115 different schools during the three days of competition. Competitors will be vying for national championships and points toward individual and team omnium awards in the time trial, criterium and road race. The event will also serve as a test event for the 2015 UCI Road World Championships. The national championship courses used for the road race and time trials will also be used in the world championships in 2015.

Riders to Watch
Marian University men's team time trial celebrate their win
Marian University men's team time trial celebrate their 2013 win.
Marian University, winners of the past four Division I team omnium national championships, will look to defend its title against stiff competition from perennial powers like the University of Colorado-Boulder, Fort Lewis College, Lindenwood University and University of California-Davis. Similarly, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) will seek to defend its national title in the Division II team omnium. MIT will be challenge by talented teams from Colorado Mesa University, Brevard College, Mars Hill College and Whitman College, among others.

The silver and bronze medalists from last year's Division I men's omnium return to duke it out on the streets of Richmond. Renan Maia (Durango, Colo./Fort Lewis College) finished second in the 2013 omnium standings after finishing third in the criterium and fifth in the road race. He will be challenged by Lindenwood University's Brandon Feehery (Homewood, Ill.), who placed third in last year's omnium behind Maia. Other Division I men to watch are Colton Barrett (Indianapolis, Ind./Marian University), Robert Chrisman (Austin, Texas/University of Texas at Austin) and Griffin Easter (Upland, Calif./Fort Lewis College).

The Division II men's omnium title should be a wide-open affair as none of last year's top five are riding in this year's event. In the mix to claim the 2014 title will be Jeffrey Clause (San Jose, Calif./Santa Clara University), who was second in the individual time trial, Brevard College's Nick Jowsey (Brevard, N.C.) and Lewis Gaffney (Angel Fire, N.M.), third and fifth, respectively, in last year's road race, 2013 criterium bronze medalist Morgan Ryan (Ventura, Calif./Colorado Mesa University) and Jacob Hill (St. Petersburg, Fla./Mars Hill College) who finished just behind Ryan last year. Daniel Holmdahl (Hanover, N.H./Dartmouth College), fifth in last year's individual time trial, could also contend for the title.

Coryn Rivera celebrates winning the Division I women's criterium
Coryn Rivera returns to defend her title in the Division I women's criterium.
Marian University's Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif.) is favored to take the women's Division I omnium crown after finishing as runner-up last year to teammate Kaitlin Antonneau. Rivera won the 2013 criterium and placed second in the road race. She will be bolstered by a strong Marian team in her quest to land the top step of the podium on Sunday. Challenges will come from Nicolle Bruderer (Boulder, Colo./University of Colorado-Boulder), Jessica Prinner (South Elgin, Ill./Midwestern State University) and Rosalyn Zylkowski (Seatec, Wash./Washington State University). Bruderer finished third in last year's criterium race and fifth in the omnium standings. Prinner and Zylkowski posted the top two times in the individual time trial at last year's national championships in Ogden, Utah.

Like the men's Division II competition, the women's Division II race for the omnium title should also be wide open. Rose Long (New York, N.Y./Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai) is the lone returning top-five finisher from last year's omnium standings. Long is the defending champion in the criterium and also placed third in the individual time trial to land her in fourth place in the 2013 omnium. Her competition will come from 2013 time trial national champion Jasmine Hansen (Grimes, Iowa/U.S. Air Force Academy), time trial runner-up Adelaide Tillinghast (Washington, D.C./American University), as well as from Solymar Rivera (Carolina, P.R./University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras) and Elspeth Huyett (Alburtis, Pa./Kutztown University of Pennsylvania), who were fourth and fifth, respectively, in the 2013 Division II women's criterium.

See what the collegiate conference directors have to say about the riders from their schools.


Racing begins on Friday when the teams will contest the team time trial in downtown Richmond, beginning with the Division II women at 9 a.m. and followed by the Division I women, Division II men and concluding with the Division I men's teams on the 31-kilometer course.

Following a break in the schedule, the riders will contest the individual time trial starting at 1 p.m. in the same order of divisions and on the same 31-kilometer route.

Saturday's racing features the criteriums in downtown Richmond. The Division II women will begin the day's racing at noon, followed by the Division I women at 1 p.m., the Division II men at 2 p.m., and the Division I men's race capping the day's racing at 3:30 p.m.

The event's third and final day features the road races on a 9.7-mile circuit. The 78-kilometer women's races begin with the Division II women at 7 a.m. The Division I women will begin their contest at 9:50 a.m. The men's races span 109.2 kilometers and will begin with the Division II men's race at 1 p.m., followed by the Division I men's race beginning at 4:20 p.m. The event's final awards ceremony following the conclusion of the last race will crown the country's best collegiate road racers as well as the individual and team omnium winners.

More Information

For updated news, course maps, a schedule of events, and more visit the 2014 CapTech USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships page. You can also follow the event on Twitter using the hashtag #CollNats.


Related Articles

This Article Updated April 30, 2014 @ 10:44 PM For more information contact: