Brevard and Warren Wilson lead Collegiate MTB Nationals going into final day


Kaysee Armstrong took her second national title when she won the D2 women's cross-country. Photo by Steve Barker.
Snowshoe, W. Va. (October 24, 2015) – Eight national titles were awarded as the USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championships  continued at Snowshoe Mountain on Saturday with the cross-country and downhill races.
Following the penultimate day of competition, Brevard College and Warren Wilson College lead the divisions 1 and 2 team omnium standings.  Brevard sits 30 points ahead of Fort Lewis College, and 64 points ahead of Marian University. Warren Wilson's lead is not quite as dominant, as its riders have only a three-point advantage over King University. See the team omnium standings here.
In the men's division 1 cross-country race, Sepp Kuss (University of Colorado) stormed to the front during lap one and developed a lead which he didn't relinquish for the rest of the race.  The Colorado rider crossed the finish line a little more than a minute ahead of his fastest chasers, silver and bronze medalists Kyle Trudeau (University of Arizona) and Luke Vrouwenvelder (University of North Carolina).
The men's division 2 field lined up right after division I and Robert Rimmer (King University) took his second national title in as many days when he completed the two laps two minutes ahead of silver medalist Benjamin Senkerik (Ripon College). Peter Noon (Western State Colorado University) collected the bronze, about four minutes off the winning pace.
Hannah Finchamp (Lindenwood University) improved on her third place finish from Friday's short track when she crossed the finish line in the women's division 1 cross-country contest with more than two minutes to spare. She claimed the national title ahead of Coryn Rivera (Marian University) and Emily Shields (University of North Carolina).
In division 2, Kaysee Armstrong (King University) added yet another gold medal to her collection when she again out-rode the field for the victory. She beat out second- and third-place finishers Allison Jones (Warren Wilson College) and Katherine Shields (Wake Forest University).
The day concluded with the downhill contests. Photo by Steve Barker.
In division 1, Phillip Kmetz (Lees-McRae College) was the fastest man down the mountain. With a time of 3:56.9, he bested Kyle Grau (Brevard College) and Dakotah Norton (Lindsey Wilson College).
Ryan Burney (Wentworth Institute of Technology) won the Stars-and-Stripes jersey for division 2 men's downhill by finishing the course just a couple of seconds faster than his teammate, Ian Turner. Daniel Frentzel (Western State Colorado) grabbed the bronze medal.
In the women's downhill contests, Rebecca Gardner (Fort Lewis College) picked up the win for division 1 when she clocked a time of 5:01.6 to finish faster than Angelina Palermo (Marian University) and Sofia Gomez Villafane (Fort Lewis College).
The division 2 women's title went to Alison Osgood (Humboldt State University) who was the fastest woman of the day with a time of 4:57.1. Ariana Altier (California State University-Chico) and Sarah Schneider (Humboldt State University) were second and third in division 2.

Competition concludes on Sunday with the team relays and dual slalom races.
For live updates from Snowshoe, follow @USACcollegiate and #collnats on twitter.
For more information, please visit these links:

This Article Updated October 25, 2015 @ 12:21 AM For more information contact: