2014 UCI Continental Teams and Women's UCI Teams announced


Colorado Springs, Colo. (December 17, 2013) — USA Cycling on Tuesday announced the 10 teams registered as men’s UCI continental teams in the United States as well as the four U.S.-based squads registered as UCI women’s teams for the 2014 racing season.

Larry Warbasse leads a chase group up a climb on stage 4
The BMC Racing Team and Garmin-Sharp are among the three U.S.-based American WorldTour teams expected to compete in 2014. (Photo by Casey B. Gibson)

The 10 continental teams are in addition to the three U.S.-based UCI ProTeams (BMC Racing Team, Garmin Sharp and Trek Factory Racing) and the two professional continental teams (UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team and Team Novo Nordisk, formerly known as Team Type 1) previously announced by the UCI. This means that altogether, the United States is home to 15 professional men’s cycling teams recognized by the UCI.

With the addition of Trek Factory Racing in 2014, the three ProTour teams is an increase of one team from 2013.

U.S.-based UCI continental teams for 2014 include: 5-Hour Energy Cycling Team, Airgas Cycling, Astellas Cycling Team, Bissell Cycling, Champion System-Stan's NoTubes, Hincapie Sportswear Development Team, Jamis Hagens Berman, Jelly Belly presented by Maxxis, Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies and SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis.

The United States also will enjoy an increase of two continental teams in 2014 as Airgas Cycling, Astellas Cycling Team and Champion Systems Stan’s NoTubes join the ranks. The Bontrager Cycling Team merged with Bissell Cycling.

In addition, four U.S.-based women’s teams are registered with the UCI for 2014: Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies, Specialized-lululemon, Team TIBCO-To the Top and UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team. The addition of the UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team offsets the loss of Exergy TWENTY16 to maintain four U.S.-based women’s teams in 2014.

For more information, please visit the UCI and Domestic Elite Team Information.

Each team’s roster is as follows:

Men’s Continental Teams

5-Hour Energy Cycling Team
Sam Bassetti (San Geronimo, Calif.)
Chad Beyer (Tucson, Ariz.)
John Hornbeck (Wildomar, Calif.)
Jacob Keough (Sandwich, Mass.)
Bruno Langlois (CAN)
Gavin Mannion (Dedham, Mass.)
Christian Parrett (Macon, Ga.)
Taylor Shelden (Louisville, Colo.)
James Stemper (Wauwatosa, Wis.)
Robert Sweeting (Asheville, N.C.)
David Williams (Grand Rapids, Mich.)

Airgas Cycling
Griffin Easter (Upland, Calif.)
Kevin Gottlieb (Alexandria, Va.)
Wes Kline (Emmaus, Pa.)
Matthew Lyons (Denver, Colo.)
Renan Maia (Durango, Colo.)
Justin Mauch (Sterling, Va.)
Zack Noonan (Kutztown, Pa.)
Gregory Ratzell (Blandon, Pa.)
Dakota Schaeffer (West Lawn, Pa.)

Astellas Cycling Team
Ryan Aitcheson (CAN)
Andrew Baker (Greenville, S.C.)
Cortlan Brown (West Bountiful, Utah)
Thomas Brown (Athens, Ga.)
Brecht Dhaene (BEL)
Brandon Feehery (Homewood, Ill.)
Matthew Green (GBR)
Stephen Hyde (Easthampton, Mass.)
Max Korus (Elkins Park, Pa.)
Clay Murfet (AUS)
Michael Pincus (Pearland, Texas)
Jacob Rytlewski (Brownsburg, Ind.)
Hogan Sills (West Lafayette, Ind.)
Chris Uberti (Greenville, S.C.)
Justin Williams (Tustin, Calif.)

Bissell Cycling
Nicolai Brochner (DEN)
Clement Chevrier (FRA)
Greg Daniel (Englewood, Colo.)
Alex Darville (Santa Barbara, Calif.)
Ryan Eastman (Petaluma, Calif.)
James Oram (NZL)
Chris Putt (Park City, Utah)
Tanner Putt (Park City, Utah)
Keegan Swirbul (Carbondale, Colo.)
Ruben Zepuntke (GER)

Champion Systems-Stan's No Tubes
Andres Alzate Escobar (COL)
Michael Chauner (West Chester, Pa.)
Gavriel Epstein (CAN)
Daniel Estevez (DOM)
Isaac Howe (Burlington, Vt.)
Adam Leibovitz (Indianapolis, Ind.)
Ariel Mendez-Penate (Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Conor Mullervy (Littleton, Colo.)
Kevin Mullervy (Centennial, Colo.)
Allan Rego (New York, N.Y.)
Rodney Santiago (PUR)

Hincapie Sportswear Development Team
Miguel Bryon (Miami, Fla.)
Robin Carpenter (Philadelphia, Pa.)
Oscar Clark (Athens, Ga.)
Jacob Mark King (North Garden, Va.)
Joseph Lewis (AUS)
Ty Magner (Athens, Ga.)
Alder Philip Martz (Greenville, S.C.)
Alexander Peter D'Arcy Ray (NZL)
Joey Rosskopf (Athens, Ga.)
Joseph Schmatz (Lawrence, Kan.)
Tom Skujins (LAT)
Dion Smith (NZL)
Thomas Wrona (Greenville, S.C.)

Jamis Hagens Berman
Matthew Cooke (Boulder, Colo.)
Ian Crane (Sammamish, Wash.)
Juan Jose Haedo (ARG)
Ben Jacques-Maynes (Corralitos, Calif.)
Daniel Jaramillo (COL)
Stephen Leece (San Luis Obispo, Calif.)
Carson Miller (Seattle, Wash.)
Gregory Obando Brenes (CRC)
Luis Romero Amaran (CUB)
Eric Schildge (Hanover, N.H.)
Rob Squire (Sandy, Utah)
Eloy Teruel Rovira (ESP)
Tyler Wren (Rensselaerville, N.Y.)

Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
Ian Burnett (Durango, Colo.)
Luis Enrique Davila (MEX)
Devan Dunn (Lake Forest, Calif.)
Steve Fisher (Seattle, Wash.)
Johnathan Freter (Columbus, Ohio)
Nic Hamilton (CAN)
Kirk Carlsen (Orinda, Calif.)
Sean Mazich (San Diego, Calif.)
Jacob Rathe (Portland, Ore.)
Freddie Rodriguez (Berkeley, Calif.)
Serghei Tvetcov (MDA)

Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
Ryan Anderson (CAN)
Jesse Anthony (Beverly, Mass.)
Alexander Candelario (Bend, Ore.)
Christopher Clements (Santa Barbara, Calif.)
Jeremy Durrin (Easthampton, Mass.)
Michael Friedman (Superior, Colo.)
Cheyne Hoag (Dansville, N.Y.)
Mitchell Hoke (Boulder, Colo.)
Brad Huff (Springfield, Mo.)
Carter Jones (Boulder, Colo.)
Joseph Kukolla (Indianapolis, Ind.)
William Routley (CAN)
Bjorn Selander (Hudson, Wis.)
Thomas Soladay (Glendale, Calif.)
Eric Young (Boulder, Colo.)
Thomas Zirbel (Boulder, Colo.)
Scott Zwizanski (West Chester, Pa.)

SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis
Zachary Bell (CAN)
Joshua Berry (Coeur D’Alene, Idaho)
Robert Britton (CAN)
Cameron Cogburn (Cambridge, Mass.)
Kristopher Dahl (CAN)
Flavio De Luna (MEX)
Shane Haga (McKinney, Texas)
Shane Kline (Bally, Pa.)
Jure Kocjan (SLO)
Julian Kyer (Longmont, Colo.)
Travis Livermon (Lewisville, N.C.)
Eric Marcotte (Scottsdale, Ariz.)
Travis McCabe (Prescott, Ariz.)
Adam Myerson (Dorchester, Mass.)
Michael Torckler (NZL)

UCI Women's Teams

Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
Annie Ewart (CAN)
Lauren Hall (Dolores, Colo.)
Janel Holcomb (San Diego, Calif.)
Maura Kinsella (Santa Clara, Calif.)
Leah Kirchmann (CAN)
Courteney Lowe (NZL)
Joelle Numainville (CAN)
Amber Pierce (Reno, Nev.)
Denise Ramsden (CAN)
Brianna Walle (Beaverton, Ore.)
Jade Wilcoxson (Talent, Ore.)

Chantal Blaak (NED)
Lisa Brennauer (GER)
Karol-Ann Canuel (CAN)
Tiffany Cromwall (AUS)
Elise Delzenne (FRA)
Loren Rowney (AUS)
Carmen Small (Durango, Colo.)
Ally Stacher (Asheville, N.C.)
Evie Stevens (Dennis, Mass.)
Tayler Wiles (Murray, Utah)
Trixi Worrack (GER)

Team TIBCO-To the Top
Alizee Brien (CAN)
Kristabel Doebel-Hickok (Marina Del Rey, Calif.)
Andrea Dvorak (Crozet, Va.)
Jasmin Glaesser (CAN)
Joanne Kiesanowski (NZL)
Amanda Miller (Fort Collins, Colo.)
Samantha Schneider (Milwaukee, Wis.)
Patricia Schwager (SUI)
Lauren Stephens (Dallas, Texas)
Anika Todd (CAN)
Scotti Wilborne (Little Rock, Ark.)

UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo.)
Hannah Barnes (GBR)
Rushlee Buchanan (NZL)
Jacquelyn Crowell (Maitland, Fla.)
Katie Hall (Oakland, Calif.)
Cari Higgins (Boulder, Colo.)
Sharon Laws (GBR)
Alison Powers (Pinecliffe, Colo.)
Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif.)
Alexis Ryan (Ventura, Calif.)
Lauren Tamayo (Asheville, N.C.)
Ruth Winder (Lafayette, Calif.)

This Article Published December 17, 2013 For more information contact:
ShimanoBonk BreakerSierra NevadaUSACDFOSMOCUORE
UCI USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States. The 501c3, membership-based organization aims both to achieve sustained success in international cycling competition and to grow competitive cycling in America while delivering an exceptional customer experience.
View Children's Online Privacy Protection Policy
US Olympic Committee