2013 Masters Track Nationals off to a fast start in Indianapolis


Men's 50-54 Scratch Race Podium
Men's 50-54 Scratch Race Podium. Photo: Robert Annis

By Robert Annis

Indianapolis, Ind. (July 30, 2013) — Multiple Stars-and-Stripes jerseys were earned Tuesday, as the first day of the 2013 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships revved up in Indianapolis. Several notable performances marked the first of six days of competition.

The men’s 50-54 scratch race was animated by a long breakaway by Matrix Cycling Club’s Robert Bodamer (Humble, Texas), but he was caught by Curtis Tolson (Louisville, Ky./Kentucky Flyers Cycling Inc) and the pack with just a few laps to go. Tolson would go on to win the race, while hometown hero John Schmitz (Bargersville, Ind./Team Indiebike) grabbed the bronze behind Russell Murphy (Kirkwood, Mo./Penrose Park Velo Team).

The field for the women's 40-44 points race was small but competitive, as six ladies battled for five medals. Cheryl Fuller-Muller (Cumming, Ga./Louis Garneau Factory Team p/b Fuji) managed to snag the victory.

Thomas O'Rourke (West Bloomfield, Mich./Cadieux Bicycle Club) won the men’s 75-79 time trial, the fifth time in a row he’s taken the victory in that age category. It was the 18th Stars-and-Stripes jersey for the Cadieux Bicycle Club rider, who has won eight world championships, as well. The 1952 Olympian said his latest national championship was the hardest.

“I’m going to keep getting older,” O’Rourke said, “but I’m glad to still be here.”

Jane Chateaubriand won the women's 50-54 sprint
Jane Chateaubriand won the women's 50-54 sprint. Photo: Robert Annis

Adding to her 2011 gold medal in the women’s 50-54 sprint, Lake Washington Velo’s Jane Chateaubriand (Seattle, Wash.) won her second masters track national title in that age category after dominating her two sprint races against second-place finisher Gwenn Afton (Reston, Va./Evolution Cycling Club p/b Long & Foster). Chateaubriand, who has won multiple gold medals in her second sport of powerlifting, dedicated her victory to “regular people.”

“I know I’m not built like your typical bike racers,” Chateaubriand said. “I’ve got big legs, big glutes. I hope people look at me and go, ‘if she can do it, so can I.’”

Rain washed out the men's 35-39 points race with 52 laps left. The race will resume where it left off Wednesday morning at 8 a.m.

For more from the Major Taylor Velodrome, including photos, results, a schedule and more, visit the USA Cycling event page at www.usacycling.org/2013/masters-track-nationals. You can also follow along on Twitter via the USA Cycling and Indy Cycloplex accounts or the hashtag #TrackNats, or on the USA Cycling and Indy Cycloplex Facebook pages.

2013 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships
Major Taylor Velodrome
Indianapolis, Indiana
July 30, 2013


Men’s 40-44 Individual Pursuit – 3km
1. Robert Springer (Sturtevant, Wis./Team Wheel & Sprocket) 03:51.1
2. Kurt Broadhag (Los Angeles, Calif./8th Wonder Cycling) 03:52.0
3. Todd Scheske (Rochester, N.Y./Genesee Valley Cycling Club) 03:53.3
4. Jason Glowney (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) 03:54.6
5. Neal Henderson (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) 03:55.5

Women’s 45-49 Time Trial – 500m
1. Gea Johnson (Scottsdale, Ariz./FASTER Performance Center) 37.074
2. Buffie Wuestewald (Sunnyvale, Calif./San Jose Bicycle Club) 38.916
3. Christine Phillips (Chandler, Ariz./Strada Racing Club) 40.238
4. Annabell Holland (Livermore, Calif./San Jose Bicycle Club) 40.627
5. Suzanne Goodwin (Mckinney, Texas/McKinney Velo Club) 41.525

Cheryl Fuller-Muller rode to victory in the women's 40-44 points race
Cheryl Fuller-Muller rode to victory in the women's 40-44 points race. Photo: Robert Annis

Men’s 70-74 Time Trial – 500m
1. Leo Menestrina (San Jose, Calif./Alto Velo Racing Club) 40.433
2. James Martins (Houston, Texas/Team Spincycle) 40.658
3. Earl Henry (Pinellas Park, Fla./Guinness Cycling Team) 41.184
4. Robert Kenner (Encinitas, Calif./San Diego Cyclo Vets) 41.798
5. Michael Williams (Metairie, La.) 43.247

Men’s 75-79 Time Trial – 500m
1. Thomas O'Rourke (West Bloomfield, Mich./Cadieux Bicycle Club) 44.421
2. J Robert Beck (Hanover Park, Ill./Midwest Masters Cycling Team) 44.426
3. Skip Sparry (Plano, Texas/Matrix Cycling Club) 44.793
4. Roger Wright (Fort Myers, Fla./Florida Velodrome Association) 52.768

Men’s 85-89 Time Trial – 500m
1. Carl Grove (Bristol, Ind./Pista Elite) 44.688

Men’s 45-49 Time Trial – 1km
1. David Brinton (N. Hollywood, Calif./Serious Cycling) 1:10.5
2. Daniel Casper (Northfield, Minn./ Revolution Cycle/Twin Six) 1:11.4
3. James Lawrence (Colorado Springs, Colo./CP Racing) 1:12.0
4. James Tainter (Minneapolis, Minn.) 1:12.2
5. James Kramer (Scottsdale, Ariz./FASTER Performance Center) 1:12.3

Women’s 55-59 Scratch Race – 5km
1. Debra Cavender (Troy, Mich./BK Training Systems LLC)
2. Elizabeth Heller (St. Louis, Mo.)
3. Valerie Tiemann (Spring, Texas/Northwest Cycling Club)
4. Karen Kelly (Phoenix, Ariz./Strada Racing Club)

Women’s 60-64 Scratch Race – 5km
1. Lynn Rivier (Highland Park, Ill./Higher Gear Chicago Cycling Club)
2. Barbara Thiele (Hillsboro, Ore.)
3. Benita Warns (Saint Paul, Minn./Omnium Bike Shop)

Women’s 65-69 Scratch Race – 5km
1. Jo Johnson (Wilmington, Del./ Team TBB/Deep Blue)

Women’s 70-74 Scratch Race – 5km
1. Julie Lockhart (Dunstable, Mass./Northeast Bicycle Club (NEBC))
2. Patricia Baker (Laguna Hills, Calif./San Diego Cyclo Vets)

Men’s 50-54 Scratch Race – 7.5km
1. Curtis Tolson (Louisville, Ky./Kentucky Flyers Cycling Inc)
2. Russell Murphy (Kirkwood, Mo./Penrose Park Velo Team)
3. John Schmitz (Bargersville, Ind./Team Indiebike)
4. Greg Cordasco (Basking Ridge, N.J./Liberty Cycle)
5. Randal Warren (Chicago, Ill./xXx Racing)

Men’s 65-69 Points Race – 10km
1. Lawrence Bosch (Fort Collins, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) 45
2. Thomas Lobdell (Indianapolis, Ind./Scarlet Fire) 34
3. Mark Rodamaker (Los Altos, Calif./Performance Cycle Coaching) 10
4. Fran Rudy (Ooltewah, Tenn./Scenic City Velo) 6
5. Walter Lay (Louisville, Ky./Team Louisville) -20

Women’s 40-44 Points Race – 10km
1. Cheryl Fuller-Muller (Cumming, Ga./Louis Garneau Factory Team p/b Fuji) 21
2. Kristen Meshberg (Lyons, Ill./George Garner Cyclery Track Team) 16
3. Andrea Brennan (Manasquan, N.J./Riptide Cycling) 9
4. Catherine Moore (Waco, Texas/ThinkFinance Racing) 7
5. Cindi Vargas (Humble, Texas/Matrix Cycling Club) -18

Women’s 50-54 Sprint
1. Jane Chateaubriand (Seattle, Wash./Lake Washington Velo)
2. Gwenn Afton (Reston, Va./Evolution Cycling Club p/b Long & Foster)
3. Tara Unverzagt (Torrance, Calif./South Bay Wheelmen)
4. Lisa Giuffre (Englewood, Ohio/The Midwest Express)

Men’s 60-64 Sprint
1. Keith Macbeth (Santa Cruz, Calif.)
2. Robert Cronin (Santa Cruz, Calif./NorCal Elite Cycling)
3. Chip Berezny (Coopersburg, Pa.)
4. Don Carlberg (Katy, Texas/Team Spincycle)
5. George Geier (Marion, Ind./Puget Sound Cycling Club)

Men’s 55-59 Sprint
1. Richard Voss (Littleton, Colo./Hammer Racing Team-TVG LTD.)
2. Kurt Sato (San Pedro, Calif./South Bay Wheelmen)
3. George Luft (Parkland, Fla.)
4. Aron Seiken (Ft Worth, Texas/Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic)
5. Kevin Wayman (Saint Louis, Mo./Hub Bicycle Company)

Related Articles

This Article Updated August 1, 2013 @ 05:17 PM For more information contact: