20 men’s, 13 women’s teams to contest Nature Valley Grand Prix


Powerful Fields To Include All Four Reigning US National Road Champions and Vuelta and Tour de France Stage Winners
MINNEAPOLIS (June 4, 2013) – Nature Valley Grand Prix organizers have selected 20 men’s teams and 13 women’s teams from among the best domestic squads to compete in one of the top US professional road cycling stage races June 12-16, 2013. With full rosters yet to be announced, the field will include Olympians, Tour de France competitors and all four reigning US national road champions.
Carmen Small will seek to repeat as the winner of the Nature Valley Grand Prix. (Photo by Matt Moses)
Carmen Small will seek to repeat as the winner of the Nature Valley Grand Prix. (Photo by Matt Moses)
This year’s event will be headlined by five of the top teams on the men’s USA Cycling National Racing Calendar (NRC) and eight of the top women’s National Racing Calendar teams. Included among the teams is the top women’s road team, TIBCO/To the Top, whose roster includes 2012 Olympian and 2010 Nature Valley Grand Prix champion, Shelley Olds.
Returning to reclaim their men’s and women’s overall titles from the 2012 Nature Valley Grand Prix are the Minneapolis-based Optum Pro Cycling presented by Kelly Benefits Strategies squads. Newly-crowned USA Cycling time trial national champion, Tom Zirbel, leads the men’s team while freshly-minted USA Cycling road national champion and Nature Valley Pro Chase alumna, Jade Wilcoxson heads the attack for the women’s team.

“The Nature Valley Grand Prix attracts the top teams to the streets and roads of Minnesota and Wisconsin each year,” noted David LaPorte, Executive Director of the Nature Valley Grand Prix. In our 15 years, we have witnessed tense battles between stars from around the world and this year’s fields promise to provide even more fireworks. The crowds that line the race routes are in for a treat.”
Specialized-lululemon, led by 2012 Nature Valley Grand Prix champion and 2013 USA Cycling time trial national champion Carmen Small, will join TIBCO/To the Top and a host of other powerhouse women’s teams on the line. The men’s peloton will be tested by two-time Tour de France stage winner Leon van Bon, riding for Mt. Borah/Minerva Designs p/b Basso and Vuelta de Espana stage winner J.J. Haedo of Jamis/Hagens-Berman.
The race will wind through some of the most popular entertainment districts in Minneapolis and St. Paul and some of the toughest roads in Minnesota and western Wisconsin. More than 50,000 spectators will line the course over the five days of the Nature Valley Grand Prix.
The 2013 Nature Valley Grand Prix roster includes:
Women’s Teams
Birchwood Cycling
Colavita-Fine Cooking
Colombian National Team
FCS|Zngine p/b Mr. Restore
ISCorp presented by Intelligentsia Coffee
Kowalski's Markets Collegiate All-Stars
Nature Valley Cycling Team
Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
Rose Bandits
St. Paul Bicycle Racing Club
Team Kenda presented by RACC
Men’s Teams
California Giant/ Specialized
CashCall Mortgage
D3Devo p/b AIRGAS
Elbowz Racing p/b Boneshaker Project
Full Circle / Pure Gear
Get Crackin’
Horizon Organic/Panache Elite Cycling
IScorp Cycling Team presented by Intelligentsia Coffee
Jamis Hagens Berman p/b Sutter Home
Jelly Belly p/ b Kenda
Kelly Benefit Strategies/LSV
LAPT-Wilde Subaru Cycling Team
Nature Valley Cycling Team
Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
Panther/Bakehouse Granola
Team Novo Nordisk Development
Think Finance p/b Trek Bike Stores
Twin Six METAL

This Article Updated June 11, 2013 @ 06:53 PM For more information contact: